Cal Wins 3 of 4 Grand Finals at San Diego Crew Classic

April 5, 2009

SAN DIEGO - California won three of four grand finals, including the Copley Cup varsity 8+ race, on Sunday to wrap up its stay at the two-day San Diego Crew Classic at Mission Bay. In the Copley Cup victory, the Golden Bears rowed to a time of 5:51.8 to edge second-place Washington, 5:52.61. Nick Lucey, Nareg Guregian, Nikola Zunic, Olivier Siegelaar, Jovan Popovic, Will Dean, Geoffrey Roth, Jan Tize and coxswain Michael Porter manned Cal's varsity 8+.

Cal's second varsity 8+ won the Sharp Cabrillo Cup grand final, again finishing ahead of second-place Washington, 6:06.92-6:6:11.02.

The Bears finished second to the Huskies in the Derek Guelker Memorial Cup or novice 8+ grand final, with Washington registering a time of 6:09.13 to second-place Cal's 6:18.88.

In the open 8+ or Joan Ward Memorial Trophy grand final, the Bears clocked a winning time of 6:30.7, with the Ltl Knights taking second in 6:36.23.

An extended recap of Cal's Sunday performances at the San Diego Crew Classic will follow.

Cal next battles Pac-10 foe Washington on April 25 at Montlake Cut in Seattle.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder