Oregon State Scheduled for Evening Session

April 6, 2009

INDIANAPOLIS - Oregon State, the No. 6 seed, will compete in the evening session of the NCAA Women's Gymnastics Championships Team Preliminaries. The competition, hosted by the University of Nebraska at the Bob Devaney Sports Center, takes place April 16 at 7 p.m. CT. OSU will begin the competition on the balance beam, as determined by a random draw.

Joining the Beavers in the evening session of the team preliminary competition is Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, UCLA and Utah. Kent State's Christina Lenny will rotate with the Beavers and Michigan's Kylee Botterman, who qualified as an individual event specialist, will perform on the floor exercise during the third rotation with OSU.

The women's gymnastics championships consists of 12 teams and 12 all-around competitors (who are not on a qualifying team) and individual event specialists. The top two teams and the top two all-around competitors from each regional (last Saturday) received automatic berths to the national championships.

In addition, the event winners at the regional championships advance to the national championships (in their specific event) if they were not part of a qualifying team or the all-around qualifiers.

The process for determining rotation pairings for day one of the team competition at the site of the finals is based on a National Qualifying Score (NQS) calculated by adding the Regional Qualifying Score (RQS) to the score achieved at regional competition.

Once the NQS is calculated, teams are ranked based on the NQS from 1 to 12. Teams 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, and 12 were placed in Group A; and teams 2, 3, 6, 7, 10 and 11 placed in Group B. Due to the host team (Nebraska) not qualifying, a random draw was used to determine competition sessions.

Preliminary team and all-around competition will be conducted in two sessions Thursday, April 16 at 1 p.m. and 7 p.m. CT. The top three teams from each session will advance to the Super Six competition Friday, April 17 at 6 p.m. The top four individuals from each session in each event (plus ties) from the preliminary team and all-around competition will compete in the individual-event competition Saturday, April 18 at 6 p.m.

Thursday's afternoon session includes: Florida, Georgia, LSU, Oklahoma, Penn State, and Stanford.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder