Bo McNally Named to Watch List for Lott Trophy

April 7, 2009

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford safety Bo McNally has been named to the 2009 Lott Trophy Watch List, it was announced today by Ronnie Lott at a luncheon in Newport Beach, Calif.

The Watch List is made up of 42 of the nation's top defensive players who have had the biggest IMPACT on their teams on and off the field. IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

McNally has led the Cardinal in tackles each of the last two seasons and has emerged as one of the top safeties in the Pac-10 Conference. He ranks as Stanford's active career leader in interceptions (8) and total tackles (211). He also has 14.0 tackles-for-loss and 4.0 sacks during his 36-game career, which includes 25 starts. He enters his final season needing one more interception to crack Stanford's all-time career top-10 list.

McNally was also named to the Lott Trophy preseason watch list last year as a junior. Including McNally, there are 14 repeat nominees, the most in the six years of the award, including seven quarterfinalists from a year ago and semifinalist Eric Berry of Tennessee, an All-American and the SEC Defensive Player of the Year as a sophomore.

The other quarterfinalists nominated this year are Boston College linebacker Mark Herzlich, the ACC Defensive Player of the Year; South Carolina's Eric Norwood, who led the SEC in sacks, Florida's Brandon Spikes, Missouri's Sean Weatherspoon, Kentucky's Jeremy Jarmon, BYU's Jan Jorgensen and South Florida's George Selvie.

Thirty-eight schools are represented on the Watch List. Alabama, BYU, Georgia and UCLA each have two players nominated.

Named after Hall of Famer Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its sixth year, The Lott Trophy is the only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career.

David Pollack of Georgia won the initial Lott Trophy in 2004. DeMeco Ryans of Alabama won the award in 2005, Daymeion Hughes of Cal was the recipient in 2006, Glenn Dorsey of LSU in 2007 and James Laurinaitis of Ohio State last year. Georgia, Alabama, Cal, LSU and Ohio State have each received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds.

In five years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has now donated nearly $650,000 to various charities, including the four universities.

In addition to Berry and Herzlich, Jerry Hughes (TCU, Mountain West) and Alex Carrington (Arkansas State, Sun Belt) were named the Defensive Players of the Year in their respective conferences.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The IMPACT Foundation Board of Advisors comprised of many retired NFL players and Legends Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches.

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Ca. on Dec. 13, 2009.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder