Pac-10 Names 10 Golden Bear Men's Swimmers to All-Academic Squad

April 7, 2009

WALNUT CREEK, CALIF. - The University of California men's swimming and diving program, fresh off a fourth place finish at the 2009 NCAA championships, had 10 athletes named to the Pacific-10 All-Academic team, conference commissioner Tom Hansen announced. The Golden Bears had seven members of the squad selected first-team all-academic, more than any other school in the conference, including two-time NCAA champion (50 and 100 freestyle in American record times of 18.71 and 41.80, respectively) and Olympic gold medalist Nathan Adrian (3.58 GPA, undeclared).

Other first-team all-academic honorees for Cal included sophomore Guy Barnea (3.50, undeclared), junior Matt Benoit (3.59, legal studies), sophomore Nick Ferrif (3.51, undeclared), senior Ian Lentz (3.39, psychology), junior Troy Nissen (3.49, Scandinavian) and senior Matt Scanlan (3.53, political science).

On the second-team Pac-10 All-Academic squad were senior David Russell (3.11, economics), sophomore Daniel Smith (3.32, undeclared) and junior Scott Sorge (3.21, molecular biology). Russell finished his Cal career at the 2009 NCAA meet by setting a school record in the 200 back (1:40.36, 10th) and was the national runner-up in the 100 back with a school-record time of 45.30. He also swam the backstroke of the Bears' 400 medley relay that was national runners-up with a school record time of 3:01.69.

Cal, under the direction of second year head coach David Durden, finished fourth at the NCAA championships (350 points) for the second year in a row. Auburn won the 2009 NCAA meet with 526 points, followed by Texas (487) and Stanford (460.5).

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder