Syd'Quan Thomson on Lott Trophy Watch List

April 7, 2009

BERKELEY - California senior cornerback Syd'Quan Thompson, who led the Golden Bears with four interceptions last season, has been named to the 2009 Lott Trophy Watch List.

The Watch List is made up of 42 of the nation's top defensive players who have had the biggest IMPACT on their teams on and off the field. IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Thompson earned first-team All-Pac-10 honors last fall when he finished with 70 total tackles and tied the Cal record with 18 passes defensed (4 interceptions and 14 passes broken up). He also averaged 12.3 yards on 28 punt returns, including a 73-yarder for a touchdown vs. Colorado State.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, the Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its sixth year, The Lott Trophy is the only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Former Golden Bear Daymeion Hughes won the Lott Trophy in 2006, which included a $25,000 check to Cal's general scholarship fund. Over the past five years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated nearly $650,000 to various charities, including the winning universities.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The IMPACT Foundation Board of Advisors comprised of many retired NFL players.

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Calif., on Dec. 13.

For more information, visit

The 2009 Lott Trophy Watch List
Mike Anello, DB, Notre Dame
Pat Angerer, LB, Iowa
Matthew Bauman, LB, BYU
Patrick Benoist, LB, Vanderbilt
Eric Berry, DB, Tennessee
Alex Carrington, DE, Arkansas State
Terrence Cody, DT, Alabama
Reggie Carter, LB, UCLA
Harry Coleman, LB, LSU
Kurt Coleman, S, Ohio State
Rennie Curran, LB, Georgia
Brian Duncan, LB, Texas Tech
Brandon Graham, DE, Michigan
Mark Herzlich, LB, Boston College
Jerry Hughes, DE, TCU
Jeremy Jarmon, DE, Kentucky
Greg Jones, LB, Mi chigan State
Jan Jorgensen, DE, BYU
Keaton Kristick, LB, Oregon State
Sean Lee, LB, Penn State
Taylor Mays, S, USC
Rolando McClain, LB, Alabama
Gerald McCoy, DT, Oklahoma
Bo McNally, S, Stanford
Derrick Morgan, DE, Georgia Tech
Roddrick Muckelroy, LB, Texas
Mike Nixon, LB, Arizona State
Eric Norwood, DE, South Carolina
Vince Oghobaase, DT, Duke
Jeff Owens, DT, Georgia
Joe Pawelek, LB, Baylor
George Selvie, DE, South Florida
Brandon Spikes, LB, Florida
Darrell Stuckey, DB, Kansas
Ndamukong Suh, DE, Nebraska
Syd'Quan Thompson, DB, Cal
Alterraun Verner, DB, UCLA
Ward T.J., DB, Oregon
Sean Weatherspoon, LB, Missouri
Ryan Winterswyk, DE, Boise State
Reed Williams, LB, West Virginia
Corey Wootton, DE, Northwestern

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder