ASU's Mike Nixon Named To 2009 Lott Trophy Watch List

April 8, 2009

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University senior linebacker Mike Nixon (Phoenix, Ariz.) has been named to the 2009 Lott Trophy Watch List, it was announced Tuesday.

Nixon led the Sun Devils with 90 tackles and five interceptions in 2008. The five interceptions tied him for the most in the Pacific-10 Conference, and he had a 45-yard interception return for a score against UCLA on November 28, part of ASU's NCAA record-tying four defensive touchdowns in the 34-9 victory. Nixon also had eight tackles for loss, five pass break-ups, one sack and one forced fumble on the season.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its sixth year, The Lott Trophy is the only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

The Watch List is made up of 42 of the nation's top defensive players who have had the biggest IMPACT on their teams on and off the field.

David Pollack of Georgia won the initial Lott Trophy in 2004. DeMeco Ryans of Alabama won the award in 2005, Daymeion Hughes of Cal was the recipient in 2006, Glenn Dorsey of LSU in 2007 and James Laurinaitis of Ohio State last year. Georgia, Alabama, Cal, LSU and Ohio State have each received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds. In five years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has now donated nearly $650,000 to various charities, including the four universities.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The IMPACT Foundation Board of Advisors comprised of many retired NFL players and Legends Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches.

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Ca. on December 13th, 2009.

For further information on The Lott Trophy, please visit the website at

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder