Oregon State Men's Crew Heads South to Face Three Top-5 Opponents

April 15, 2009

CORVALLIS, Ore. - The Oregon State men's crew will head to Redwood Shores, Calif. over the weekend of April 17-19 to take on three crews that are ranked in the top 5 of the latest USRowing poll.

The Beavers will start the weekend off on Friday with a matchup against the defending IRA Champion crew from Wisconsin. Currently ranked No. 2 in the country, the Badgers' V8+ defeated Washington by 1.72 seconds at the 2008 IRA Championships to cap off an undefeated season and capture their ninth national championship in the team's history.

The Varsity crews from Wisconsin and Oregon State will begin the racing at 6:10 p.m., followed by the Open 8+ at 6:30. The final race of the day will be the Freshman 8+ crews who are scheduled to race at 6:50.

On Saturday the Beavers will face off against Pac-10 rival, No. 5 Stanford. The Cardinal finished third, one spot ahead of Oregon State, in team points at the 2008 Pac-10 Championships and their Varsity 8+ crew went on to capture fifth place at the IRA Championships. The dual races will be held in the morning, with the V8+ starting at 9:30 a.m., followed by the Open 8+ at 9:50 and the F8+ at 10:10.

Oregon State will finish off the weekend of racing on Sunday when they take on No. 1 California. The Golden Bears came away with the Copley Cup at the San Diego Crew Classic two weeks ago and has yet to lose a race this season. The same sequence of boats will race on Sunday, with the varsity crews beginning at 9:40 a.m. The Open 8+ will race at 10 and the freshman crews will finish the weekend of racing when they face off at 10:20.

Head coach Steve Todd is looking forward to the races. 'It's an exciting weekend for us. Racing last year's National Champions from Wisconsin will be a challenge and racing Pac-10 rivals always produces great intensity.'

Check back with osubeavers.com for results from all three days of racing.

Varsity 8+
Cox: Stefan Evano
S: Robby Ewing
7: Will Gustafson
6: Ian George
5: Mike Buckiewicz
4: Rob Hannah
3: Campbell Woods
2: David Weir
B: Bronson Shafer

Open 8+
Cox: Beth Olsen
S: Joe Wainwright
7: Marcus Timo
6: Josh Jones
5: Trae Wells
4: Drew Wilkerson
3: Trevor Howard
2: Kenneth Walker
B: Sam Schwartz

Freshman 8+
Cox: Dan Thompson
S: Chad Swenson
7: Spencer Robertson
6: Wyatt Worrel
5: Rory O'Byrne
4: John Gallion
3: Andrew read
2: Pat Kohan
B: Trevor Carey

Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund. For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370. You can make an 'everyday champion.'Follow Beaver Athletics on Twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder