Men's Basketball Holds Annual Team Awards Banquet

April 16, 2009

STANFORD, Calif.- Senior Anthony Goods walked away with five awards, including a share of the Hank Luisetti Most Valuable Player honor, highlighting the Stanford men's basketball team annual awards banquet on Wednesday night in front of approximately 200 people at the Arrillaga Family Sports Center.

Joining Goods as the team's co-MVP award winner was senior Lawrence Hill. Goods and Hill finished 1-2 on the squad in scoring, with Goods pouring in a team-best 16.2 points per game while leading the Cardinal in three-point shooting (71-183) and free throws (142-182). Hill ended the year second in both scoring (13.6 ppg) and rebounding (5.9 rpg) while making 50.3 percent of his shots from the field.

Goods also claimed the Best Defensive Player award and shared the honor of team captain with fellow senior Mitch Johnson, who also received the Most Inspirational award.

Junior Landry Fields picked up two traditional awards as well, being named the Most Improved Player in addition to capturing the Roy Young Toughness award, which was given to the player who took the most charges throughout the year.

Senior Kenny Brown, a walk-on who deferred his admission to dental school one year to return for a fifth season, was the recipient of the Howie Dallmar Coaches award for the second straight season. He is the first player to win the award unanimously for two consecutive seasons since Kamba Tshionyi accomplished the feat in 1997 and 1998.

Six statistical awards were given out this year representing the following categories: free throw percentage (Anthony Goods- 48.0), assists (Mitch Johnson- 4.5 per game), points (Anthony Goods- 16.2 per game), rebounds (Landry Fields- 6.6 per game), field goal percentage (Josh Owens- 56.2) and three-point field goal percentage (Jeremy Green- 45.6).

Freshman Matei Daian was recognized for attaining the team's highest GPA while Kevin Danna was given the Senior Manager award after four seasons among the team's support staff.

In a format change from recent years, each of the four seniors spoke to the crowd about experiences from their careers while offering advice to their teammates. At the end of their speeches, a video tribute was played.

Awards were presented by members of the coaching staff and head coach Johnny Dawkins closed the evening by thanking his players and those in attendance. Veteran radio analyst John Platz served as the event's emcee.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder