Three Pac-10 Baseball Players Named To NCBWA Stopper Of The Year Midseason Watch List

April 16, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Birmingham, Ala. (NCBWA) --- Three pitchers from the Pac-10 Conference are included on the list of forty-five relief pitchers named to the midseason watch list for the fifth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, the association announced Thursday. The award is given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I college baseball.

The midseason watch list includes Addison Reed of San Diego State, who leads the nation with 12 saves and is the only closer with double digits in that category. The sophomore right-hander carries a 0.51 earned run average and has totaled 20 strikeouts in only 14.2 innings pitched.

Not far behind Reed are nine save relief specialists all tied for second nationally: Luke Demko (1-3, 2.57) of Rhode Island, Ryan Smith (0-0, 4.19) of Dartmouth, Eric Pettis (3-1, 3.83) of UC Irvine, Kyle Bellamy (3-0, 1.40) of Miami (Fla.) and Winthrop's Tyler Mizenko (2-3, 3.38).

The Atlantic Coast Conference led the way with seven players named to the midseason watch list. The Big 12 had five, while the West Coast and Southeastern Conference added four pitchers each on this year's watch list. The Pac-10 Conference totaled three.

The watch list was compiled from nominations submitted by sports information contacts and conference media relations offices nationwide. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 3, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional play.

The NCBWA's All-America Committee then will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced Saturday, June 13, before the opening of NCAA College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006, Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007 and Georgia's Joshua Fields topping the field in 2008.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects a Division I All-America Team, Division I Freshman All-Americans, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division II and III Players of the Year. For more information on the NCBWA Stopper of the Year, contact Chuck Dunlap at the Southeastern Conference at 205-458-3000.


Colin Bates, North Carolina, So.
Michael Belfiore, Boston College, Jr.
Kyle Bellamy, Miami (Fla.), Jr.
Scott Bittle, Ole Miss, Sr.
Zach Calhoon, UTSA, Jr.
Collin Cargill, Southern Miss, So.
Joey Cutler, NC State, Sr.
Luke Demko, Rhode Island, Sr.
Chris Enourato, West Virginia, Jr.
Nick Gaudi, Pepperdine, Sr.
Jake Geglein, Cincinnati, Sr.
AJ Griffin, San Diego, Jr.
Jake Hale, Ohio State, Sr.
Stephen Harrold, UNC Wilmington, So.
Alex Hassan, Duke, Jr.
Austin Hubbard, Auburn, Jr.
Joe Kelly, UC Riverside, Jr.
Greg Lane, Binghamton, Sr.
Cody Martin, Gonzaga, So.
Nick McCully, Coastal Carolina, Fr.
Tyler Mizenko, Winthrop, Fr.
Brian Moran, North Carolina, Jr.
Kevin Munson, James Madison, So.
Matty Ott, LSU, Fr.
Matt Packer, Virginia, Jr.
Eric Pettis, UC Irvine, Jr.
Addison Reed, San Diego State, So.
Kevin Rhoderick, Oregon State, So.
Jordan Rogers, Rice, Sr.
Thomas Rooke, Kansas State, So.
Chad Shepherd, Northwestern State, Fr.
Thain Simon, Santa Clara, So.
Paul Smyth, Kansas, Sr.
Ryan Smith, Dartmouth, So.
Jimmy Stanley, Belmont, Sr.
Travis Starling, Texas A&M, Jr.
Jason Stoffel, Arizona, Jr.
Drew Storen, Stanford, So.
Josh Storm, Troy, Sr.
Daniel Tenholder, Austin Peay, Jr.
Matt Vaughn, Clemson, Sr.
Derek Ward, UL-Monroe, Sr.
Dean Weaver, Georgia, Jr.
Austin Wood, Texas, Sr.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder