Wildcats in NBA Playoffs

April 21, 2009

TUCSON – Six former Arizona men’s basketball student athletes are currently involved in the 2009 NBA Playoffs, the third-most from any one school. Duke University placed eight former players in the NBA postseason for top honors.

Representing Arizona in the Western Conference is Luke Walton (Lakers), Jerryd Bayless (Trail Blazers), Channing Frye (Trail Blazers), and Jason Terry (Mavericks), while Mike Bibby (Hawks) and Andre Iguodala (76’ers) are in the Eastern Conference bracket.

In total, Arizona had 10 players finish the 2009 regular season on NBA rosters. The only Wildcats not to be participating in the postseason are Gilbert Arenas (Wizards), Richard Jefferson (Bucks) and Salim Stoudamire (Bucks). Marcus Williams appeared in the final five regular season games for San Antonio and is currently on the Spurs inactive playoff roster.


# of players from one school in 2009 NBA Playoffs

Duke     8           

Kansas    7

Arizona    6

Florida    6

Kentucky  5



Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network