Men's Tennis Travels To Ojai For Pac-10 Championships

April 22, 2009

STANFORD, Calif. - The No. 8 Stanford men's tennis team will travel to Ojai, California this week for the annual Pac-10 Championships, held at Libbey Park from April 23-26. The conference tournament is held in conjunction with the 109th Annual Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament.

The 32-player men's singles draw consists of four student-athletes from each school and four wild cards will be selected at the discretion of the draw committee. The 16-team men's doubles draw consists of two doubles teams from each school and two wild card teams will be selected by the committee.

Since 1987, Stanford has captured 12 Pac-10 singles titles and 9 doubles championships. Three Cardinal men, including Matt Bruch who is currently on the roster, have won singles and doubles in the same year (Alex O'Brien 1992 and Sam Warburg 2005). Bruch completed the feat in 2007.

Stanford currently has three ranked singles players and three ranked doubles pairs: No. 20 Alex Clayton, No. 48 Bradley Klahn, No. 121 Richard Wire, No. 35 Blake Muller/Wire, No. 45 Klahn/Ryan Thacher, and No. 76 Bruch/Thacher. The Cardinal tied for third in the seven-team conference with Washington after going 3-3. Stanford finished the regular season 18-5 overall.

Matches in Ojai begin at 8 a.m., with two rounds of singles on opening day. One round of singles and two rounds of doubles will be played on Friday. The Pac-10 men's singles final will be held at 9:30 a.m. on Sunday and the men's doubles championship will follow at 12:30 p.m.

The Cardinal has three players entered into the invitational singles bracket; sophomores Greg Hirshman and Ted Kelly, along with senior Jeff Zeller. All three received a bye into the Round of 16. Hirshman will play the winner of California's Tommie Murphy and USC's Andrew Kells at 3:30 p.m. Thursday, Kelly will face the Trojans' Daniel Gliner at 2 p.m. Thursday, and Zeller will play Washington's Alex Rosinski at a time to be determined.

Five Stanford men will be competing in the championship singles bracket and all will begin in the Round of 32 on Thursday. No. 48 freshman Bradley Klahn will go first, facing UCLA's Amit Inbar at 8 a.m. Following that match, freshman Ryan Thacher will square off with Oregon's Alexander Cornelissen at 9:30 a.m. Then No. 122 junior Richard Wire will play the Bruins' Michael Look at 11 a.m. Senior Blake Muller and No. 20 sophomore Alex Clayton will both go at 12:30 p.m., with Muller playing UCLA's No. 123 Holden Seguso and Clayton facing the Ducks' Jose Izquierdo.

The Cardinal will field four doubles teams, one in the invitational bracket and three in the championship bracket. Hirshman and Zeller received a bye to the invitational quarterfinals and will face Cal's Tommie Murphy and Evan Rose at 3 p.m. on Friday.

In championship doubles action, No. 35 Wire and Muller will play Arizona's Andres Carrasco and Ravid Hazi at 9 a.m. on Friday, followed by two Stanford matches at 10:30 a.m. No. 45 Klahn and Thacher will play UCLA's Matt Brooklyn and Seguso and Clayton and Kelly will face Oregon's Cornelissen and Marcos Verdasco.

For the complete draw, please click here.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder