No. 8 Golden Bears Face Strong Field at Pac-10 Championships

April 22, 2009

BERKELEY - THIS WEEK: The No. 8-ranked California women's tennis team (17-4, 7-1 Pac-10, second place) will join the Pacific-10 conference's other eight teams as it heads to Ojai, Calif. this weekend for the Pac-10 Tennis Championships at the Ojai Valley Tennis Club and Libbey Park. The four-day tournament (Thursday, April 23 through Sunday, April 26) will decide the league's men's and women's singles and doubles champions. The 32-player singles draw consists of three student-athletes from each school and five wild card players to be selected at the discretion of the draw committee. The 16-team doubles draw consists of one doubles team from each school and seven wild card teams selected by the committee. The Pac-10 Championships will be held in conjunction with the 109th Annual Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament with matches beginning at 8 a.m. on Thursday, April 23. Two rounds of singles will be played on the first day while one round of singles and two rounds of doubles will be played on the second day. Thursday and Friday matches will be held at the Ojai Valley Tennis Club with Saturday and Sunday matches moving to Libbey Park. The singles championship match will be held at 11 a.m. on Sunday, April 26 with the doubles championships to be held at 2 p.m.

WHO'S WHO?: Pac-10 women occupy 23 spots on the ITA's Top-125 singles rankings list through April 21. Of the Top-30 players in the nation, nine hail from the Pac-10. Seven Conference teams are represented by ranked individuals,with sophomore Hilary Barte of Stanford topping that list at No. 5.

ARIZONA: No. 65 Danielle Steinberg, Sr.ARIZONA STATE: No. 8 Kelcy McKenna, So.; No. 40 Nadia Abdala, Jr.; No. 103 Micaela Hein, So.CALIFORNIA: No. 10 Jana Juricova, Fr.; No. 28 Marina Cossou, So.; No. 30 Bojana Bobusic, Sr.; No. 35 Mari Andersson, So.; No. 54 Claire Ilcinkas, Sr.STANFORD: No. 5 Hilary Barte, So.; No. 75 Lindsay Burdette, Jr.; No. 84 Jessica Nguyen, Sr.; No. 99 Carolyn McVeigh, So.UCLA: No. 14 Yasmin Schnack, Jr.; No. 56 Andrea Remynse, So.; No. 104 Maya Johansson, So.USC: No. 21 Maria Sanchez, So.; No. 27 Amanda Fink, Sr.; No. 38 Sarah Fansler, Jr.; No. 68 Alison Ramos, Fr.; No. 78 Gabriela Niculescu, Jr.WASHINGTON: No. 18 Venise Chan, So.; No. 76 Denise Dy, Fr.

In doubles, Pac-10 women's teams hold 21 spots in the ITA Top-90 national doubles rankings, with eight schools represented. The UCLA tandem of Andrea Remynse and Yasmin Schnack are the highest-ranked doubles team in the Conference, landing at No. 3.

ARIZONA: No. 67 Danielle Steinberg, Sr./Sarah Landsman, Fr.; No. 88 Claire Riestch, Jr./Natasha Marks, Fr.ARIZONA STATE: No. 16 Kelcy McKenna, So./Micaela Hein, So.; No. 50 Laila Abdala, Sr./Nadia Abdala, Jr.CALIFORNIA: No. 5 Mari Andersson, So./Jana Juricova, Fr.; No. 26 Claire Ilcinkas, Sr./Marina Cossou, So.;No. 49 Bojana Bobusic, Sr./Jana Juricova, Fr.; No. 87 Bojana Bobusic, Sr./Claire Ilcinkas, Sr.OREGON: No. 72 Ana Cecilia Olivos, Sr./Pavlina Smatova, So.STANFORD: No. 6 Lindsay Burdette, Jr./Hilary Barte, So.; No. 47 Carolyn McVeigh, So./Jessica Nguyen, Sr.UCLA: No. 3 Andrea Remynse, So./Yasmin Schnack, Jr.; No. 44 Ashley Joelson, Sr./Yasmin Schnack, Jr.;No. 65 Nina Pantic, Fr./Yasmin Schnack, Jr.; No. 66 Stephanie Wetmore, Jr./Carling Seguso, Fr.USC: No. 9 Amanda Fink, Sr./Gabriela Niculescu, Jr.; No. 32 Gabriela Niculescu, Jr./Maria Sanchez, So.;No. 56 Sarah Fansler, Jr./Lyndsay Kinstler, So.; No. 80 Maria Sanchez, So./Alison Ramos, Fr.WASHINGTON: No. 42 Denise Dy, Fr./Joyce Ardies, Jr.; No. 83 Venise Chan, So./Denise Dy, Fr.

OJAI HISTORY: The Pac-10 Championships will again be the featured event at this year's 109th Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament. The annual event attracts 1,600 of the best collegiate, junior and open players from the Western states. Started by William Thacher in 1896, the championships have been played at the same site and interrupted only five times through more than a century of play. The tournament, put on entirely by volunteer efforts on public and privately owned courts has featured such quality players as: Pete Sampras, Lindsay Davenport, Michael Chang, Rick Leach, Tracy Austin, Billy Jean King, Arthur Ashe, Jimmy Connors and the Bryan twins. These tennis greats are among more than 85 former players at The Ojai who have gone on to win one or more Grand Slam events as professional tennis players, all of whom are listed on Libbey Park's 'Wall of Fame.'

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder