Wrestling Celebrates 2008-09 Season With Annual Awards Banquet

April 22, 2009

Stanford, Calif. - The Stanford wrestling team celebrated a season of successes last weekend with its annual awards banquet. The Cardinal recognized numerous wrestlers with team awards and bid farewall to senior Luke Feist.

Nine wrestlers were recognized with the Tod Surmon award, presented to the wrestler with the most outstanding performance in a home dual meet. In 2008-09, the winners were Jake Johnson for Northwestern on Nov. 23, Max Rosefigura for Menlo College on Nov. 26, Porfirio Madrigal for San Francisco State on Nov. 26, Nick Amuchastegui for Columbia on Jan. 10, Matt Sencenbaugh for Drexel on Jan. 10, Lucas Espericueta for UC Davis on Jan. 10, Amuchastegui for Oregon State on Jan. 30, Feist for Portland State on Jan. 30, Sencenbaugh for Princeton on Jan. 30, Tyler Parker for Arizona State on Feb. 6 and Cameron Teitelman for Cal Poly on Feb. 15.

Captains Feist, Parker, Johnson and Espericueta were presented with the Captains' Award.

Voted by the team, Amuchastegui was named the team Most Outstanding Newcomer, while Sencenbaugh was deemed Most Improved. Feist and Amuchastegui, both 2009 NCAA qualifiers, were named the squad's Most Valuable Wrestlers.

Amuchastegui also earned the Outstanding Scholar-Athlete award given to the wrestler who best combines academic and athletic excellence.

The Coaches Award, given to the individual who made the most significant contributions to the well-being of the team in terms of attitude, improvement, or special leadership, was awarded to Parker, sophomore Austin Quarles and freshman Victor Haug.

Johnson was presented with the BAGUBA Award, a new honor which goes to the athlete who best represents what the coaches look for in a Stanford wrestler.

Under the direction of first-year head coach Jason Borrelli, Stanford won eight duals in 2008-09, had four top-three Pac-10 placers for the first time in more than two decades and sent two wrestlers to compete for a national title at the NCAA Championships in St. Louis.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder