USC Selected No. 2 Seed In NCAA Women's Golf Regional Championship

April 27, 2009

The No. 3 and reigning NCAA champion USC women's golf team received word today where it will begin the defense of its national crown, selected as the No. 2 seed in the 2009 NCAA Women's Golf Championships West Regional, the NCAA announced on Monday (April 27).

NCAA East, Central and West Regionals, each made up of 21 teams, will be conducted May 7-9 to determine the championship final field. The top eight teams plus two individuals from each field will advance to the championship round, scheduled for May 19-22 at the Caves Valley G.C. in Owings Mills, Md. Georgetown is the host school.

The Women of Troy, the 2008 and 2003 NCAA champions and the 2006 runner-up, have four top 4 finishes in the past six years and eight in the top 7 since 1998.

The Trojans have finished first in their last three NCAA Regional events. USC won the 2008 West Regional and the 2007 and 2006 Central Regional. Troy is looking to advance out of the NCAA Regional for the 12th year in a row in its 18th consecutive NCAA appearance (the last 12 under 13th-year Head Coach Andrea Gaston).

Last week at the Stanford (Calif.) G.C., USC placed second at the 2009 Pac-10 Women's Golf Championship, finishing nine back of first-place Arizona State. Freshman Jennifer Song rallied to earn a spot in a three-way playoff, but lost on the first hole. She and sophomore Lizette Salas, who carded a final round 6-under 65 to finish fourth, were named to the 2009 All-Pac-10 first team while junior Belen Mozo was selected as second team. USC's final-round 278 set a school record while Salas' 65 was one off the Trojan single-round record.

Arguably the top conference in the nation, the Pac-10 received eight of the 63 available team bids, including two of the No. 1 seeds (UCLA in the Central and ASU in the West).

Below is information on each regional. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.


The East regional will be played May 7-9 at the Mark Bostick G.C. in Gainesville, Fla., and will be hosted by Florida.

1. Virginia
2. Auburn (Southeastern Conference)
3. Alabama
4. North Carolina
5. Duke
6. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)
7. Tennessee
8. Vanderbilt
9. Georgia
10. Tulane (Conference USA)
11. Florida
12. East Carolina
13. Mississippi
14. South Carolina
15. Furman (Southern Conference)
16. Charleston
17. Florida State
18. Central Florida
19. Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)
20. Stetson (Atlantic Sun Conference)
21. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1. Susannah Aboff, Princeton
2. Julia Potter, Missouri
3. Jessica Hollandsworth, Maryland

Central Regional

The Central regional will be played May 7-9 at the Scarlet G.C. in Columbus, Ohio, and will be hosted by Ohio State.

2. Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
3. Purdue (Big Ten Conference)
4. Wake Forest (Atlantic Coast Conference)
5. Louisville (Big East Conference)
6. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
7. Michigan State
8. Ohio State
9. Stanford
10. New Mexico (Mountain West Conference)
11. Georgia State (Colonial Athletic Association)
12. Notre Dame
13. North Carolina State
14. Washington
15. Kentucky
16. Chattanooga
17. Michigan
18. Murray State (Ohio Valley Conference)
19. Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)
20. Harvard (Ivy Group)
21. Fairleigh Dickinson (Northeast Conference)

1. Kendall Dye, Oklahoma
2. Kayla Mortellaro, Idaho
3. Sara Wikstrom, Arkansas, Little Rock

West Regional

The West regional will be played May 7-9 at the ASU Karsten Golf Course in Tempe, Ariz., and will hosted by Arizona State.

1. Arizona State (Pacific-10 Conference)
2. USC
3. Louisiana State
4. Pepperdine
5. Arkansas
6. San Jose State (Western Athletic Conference)
7. Arizona
8. California
9. UC Irvine
10. San Francisco
11. UNLV
12. TCU
13. Texas A&M
14. Oregon
15. Long Beach State (Big West Conference)
16. Colorado
17. Texas
18. Baylor
19. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (Southland Conference)
20. Northern Arizona (Big Sky Conference)
21. Oral Roberts (The Summit League)

1. Miki Ueoka, Santa Clara
2. Chelsea Stelzmiller, UC Davis
3. Alice Kim, UC Davis

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder