UCLA Selected to Host NCAA Tennis Regionals, May 8-10

April 28, 2009

NCAA Men's Team Championship Draw
NCAA Women's Team Championship Draw

LOS ANGELES - Both the UCLA men's and women's tennis teams received top 16 seeds to the 2009 NCAA Championships on Tuesday and have been selected to host first and second round regional play at the Los Angeles Tennis Center, May 8-10.

Men's action will start on Friday, May 8, with Hawai'i (10-9) facing Oklahoma State (14-7) at 10:00 a.m. That match will be followed by seventh-seeded UCLA (17-4) versus Southern Illinois (18-6) at 1:00 p.m. Friday's winners will meet on Saturday at 3:00 p.m. with the winner of that match advancing to the round of 16 beginning on May 14 in College Station, Texas. The Bruin men were a No. 3 seed a year ago, falling to Texas in the semifinals in Tulsa, Okla.

The women kickoff action on Saturday, May 9, as Arizona State (11-8) takes on UNLV (20-7) at 9:00 a.m. The 11th-seeded UCLA women (17-6) will then face Boston University (15-5) at Noon. Saturday's winners will meet in the second round on Sunday at Noon. Similar to the men, Sunday's second-round winner will advance to College Station for the round of 16, beginning on May 15. UCLA is the defending champion on the women's side, as the Bruins defeated Cal, 4-0 in last year's final in Tulsa, Okla.

Tickets for the NCAA Regionals are $7 for adults and $5 for youth/students (w/valid ID). Tickets can be purchased at the front gate of the Los Angeles Tennis Center the day of the event.

NCAA Tennis Regional Schedule
May 8-10 - Los Angeles Tennis Center

Friday, May 8
10:00 a.m. - Hawai'i vs. Oklahoma State (Men)
1:00 p.m. - (7) UCLA vs. Southern Illinois (Men)

Saturday, May 9
9:00 a.m. - Arizona State vs. UNLV (Women)
Noon - (11) UCLA vs. Boston University (Women)
3:00 p.m. - Men's Regional Final

Sunday, May 10
Noon - Women's Regional Final

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network