Four Pac-10 Ptchers Named To National Pitcher Of The Year Watch List

April 29, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

LUBBOCK, Texas -- The College Baseball Foundation and Mizuno announced today the first watch list for the inaugural presentation of the Pitcher of the Year Award. Four Pac-10 pitchers earned a spot on the first list.

The Pitcher of the Year will be honored during the College Baseball Awards Show on July 2 in Lubbock.

'We are excited to have this new award as part of our presentation in July,' said Raymond Richardson, College Baseball Awards Show chair and CBF board member. 'To have the chance to specifically recognize the greatest pitching talent in college baseball is an opportunity we couldn't pass up.'

The initial Pitcher of the Year Watch List includes the NCAA leader in strikeouts, Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State. Strasburg has recorded 121 strikeouts on the year. A.J. Morris of Kansas State also made the list with his 9-0 record.

Three conferences outpace the others in representation with the Big 12, ACC and SEC claiming a combined total of 21 pitchers. Two schools - Arizona State and Texas - each have three pitchers appearing on the list.

'These conferences and schools are traditional baseball powers,' said Landon Holley, Pitcher of the Year Award chair. 'But, while we want to recognize their accomplishments, we are also making sure deserving pitchers from the smaller schools and conferences are represented.'

The College Baseball Awards Show will recognize the top players in college baseball as part of the CBF's annual celebration, which also includes the National College Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. In addition to the Pitcher of the Year Award, other awards presented during the show will include the Brooks Wallace Award to the national shortstop of the year and the Dick Howser Trophy for the national player of the year.


Player, School, Conference
Austin Hyatt, Alabama, SEC
Josh Spence, Arizona State, Pac-10
Mike Leake, Arizona State, Pac-10
Mitchell Lambson, Arizona State, Pac-10

Logan Verrett, Baylor, Big 12
Eric Massingham, Cal Poly, Big West
Chris Heston, East Carolina, Conf USA
Mike Recchia, Eastern Illinois, OVC
Sean Gilmartin, Florida State, ACC
Dean Weaver, Georgia, SEC
Trevor Holder, Georgia, SEC
Deck McGuire, Georgia Tech, ACC
Eric Arnett, Indiana, Big 10
A.J. Morris, Kansas State, Big 12
Eric Harrington, Lamar, Southland
Adam Wilk, Long Beach State, Big West
Louis Coleman, Louisiana State, SEC
Anthony Ranaudo, Louisiana State, SEC
Justin Marks, Louisville, Big East
Kyle Bellamy, Miami, ACC
Jason Santana, Miami, ACC
Chris Fetter, Michigan, Big 10
Nick Routt, Mississippi State, SEC
Kyle Gibson, Missouri, Big 12
Buddy Baumann, Missouri State, MVC
Daniel Calhoun, Murray State, OVC
Daniel Simon, New Mexico State, WAC
Alex White, North Carolina, ACC
Jake Hale, Ohio State, Big 10
Alex Wimmers, Ohio State, Big 10
Cole Cook, Pepperdine, WCC
Mike Ojala, Rice, Conf USA
Ryan Berry, Rice, Conf USA
A.J. Griffin, San Diego, WCC
Addison Reed, San Diego State, Mnt West
Stephen Strasburg, San Diego State, Mnt West
David Berner, San Jose State, WAC
Max Peterson, San Jose State, WAC
Austin Dicharry, Texas, Big 12
Chance Ruffin, Texas, Big 12
Austin Wood, Texas, Big 12
Brooks Raley, Texas A&M, Big 12
Chad Bettis, Texas Tech, Big 12
Daniel Bibona, UC Irvine, Big West
Eric Pettis, UC Irvine, Big West
Joe Gardner, UC Santa Barbara, Big West
Andrew Carraway, Virginia, ACC
Danny Hultzen, Virginia, ACC
Jeremy Johnson, Washington State, Pac-10
Jarryd Summer, West Virginia, Big East

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder