Mary T. Meagher Finalist for U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame

April 29, 2009

BERKELEY - Mary T. Meagher, one of the most decorated swimmers in history who competed for the Golden Bears from 1983-87, is among a group of nominees for the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2009.

The star-studded nominee list of 15 individuals, five teams and five Paralympians includes Olympic legends such as Teresa Edwards, Gary Hall Sr., Michael Johnson, Picabo Street, the 1992 Men's Olympic Basketball Team and more.

From now through June 16, fans can cast their votes for the 2009 class of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame online at

Meagher, a six-time NCAA champion for Cal, is a member of both the International Swimming Hall of Fame and the Cal Athletic Hall of Fame. Known as Madame Butterfly during her competitive years, she earned a spot on the 1980, '84 and '88 U.S. Olympic teams. At the 1984 Games in Los Angeles, Meagher captured gold medals in the 100 and 200 butterfly and as a member of the 400-meter medley relay. Her 100 and 200 fly times were both Olympic records.

Meagher enrolled at Cal in the fall of 1982 and won NCAA championships each of her four years with the Bears (She took 1984 off from school to concentrate on the Olympics.). She also won the Honda Sports Award for swimming in 1985 and 1987 and was selected the winner of the 1987 Honda Broderick Cup, given annually to the nation's top female collegiate athlete.

The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame finalists were unveiled at an event headlined by Allstate chairman, president and chief executive officer Tom Wilson, along with USOC acting CEO Stephanie Streeter, Chicago 2016 chairman and CEO Patrick Ryan, and U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame member John Naber.

'The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame celebrates our honorees' commitment to excellence and recognizes Americans who are role models and heroes,' said Wilson. 'Each of us can find strength, passion and inspiration in these ordinary people who achieved extraordinary success in the Olympics. They help make us proud to be Americans.'

The inducted class will include five individuals, one team and one Paralympian, as well as three additional individuals: a coach, veteran and special contributor. The inductees will be revealed in early July and will be honored at a black-tie induction ceremony on Aug. 12 at McCormick Place in Chicago. The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame presented by Allstate is the only national sports Hall of Fame that includes fan voting.

'The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame honors Olympic and Paralympic legends who have inspired our country for generations, uniting us behind Team USA and giving us role models who epitomize the Olympic ideals,' Streeter said. 'Allstate's generous support of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame and dedication to celebrating the accomplishments of America's Olympic and Paralympic greats further illustrates their commitment to the Olympic Movement and America's athletes.'

The induction ceremony will honor the 2009 U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame class and introduce a new international award - the Olive Branch Award - given to an individual or individuals who best represent the international ideals of the Olympic Games by working to build a peaceful and better world through sport. Also new to 2009, the induction ceremony will feature a special fundraising banquet to benefit Chicago 2016, Chicago's bid to host the 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Nominees for the induction class of 2009 were selected by a 10-person nominating committee consisting of athletes, members of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame, historians, and USOC representatives.

The nominees are:

Greg Barton, canoe/kayak
Jeff Blatnick, wrestling
Valerie Brisco-Hooks, athletics
Tracie Ruiz-Conforto, swimming
Teresa Edwards, basketball
Gary Hall Sr., swimming
Michael Johnson, athletics
Mary T. Meagher, swimming
Sheila Young Ochowicz, speedskating
Darrell Pace, archery
Terry Schroeder, water polo
John Smith, wrestling
Picabo Street, alpine skiing
Peter Westbrook, fencing
Willye White, athletics

Jean Driscoll, athletics
David Larson, athletics
Greg Mannino, alpine skiing
Tony Volpentest, athletics
Sarah Will, alpine skiing

1976 U.S. Women's 4x100 Freestyle Relay Team
1992 U.S. Men's Basketball Team
1996 U.S. Synchronized Swimming Team
1998 U.S. Women's Ice Hockey Team
2002 U.S. Women's Bobsled Team

For more information on the 2009 nominees, including bios and photos, and a comprehensive list of existing U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame members, please visit

About the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame
The charter class of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame was enshrined in 1983, with such Olympic legends as Cassius Clay, Peggy Fleming, Jesse Owens, Wilma Rudolph, Mark Spitz and the 1980 'Miracle on Ice' U.S. Olympic Men's Hockey Team. Annual additions continued through 1992, adding Olympic legends such as Bart Conner, Dorothy Hamill, 'Sugar Ray' Leonard, Carl Lewis, Greg Louganis and Mary Lou Retton.

In becoming the presenting sponsor, Allstate sparked the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame's revitalization in 2004. During the company's five-year tenure as a partner, the Hall of Fame has inducted numerous decorated Olympic athletes including: Bonnie Blair, Janet Evans, Florence Griffith Joyner, Dan Jansen, Kristi Yamaguchi and the 1996 'Magnificent Seven' U.S. Women's Gymnastics Team. Following last June's induction of the Class of 2008, the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame currently consists of 213 distinguished athletes and 13 special contributors.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder