NCAA Tournament Play Gets Underway For Six Pac-10 Men's and Women's Tennis Teams This Weekend

April 29, 2009


Men's Team BracketGet Acrobat Reader

Women's Team BracketGet Acrobat Reader


INDIANAPOLIS -- The fields for the 2009 NCAA Men's and Women's Tennis Championships were announced by the NCAA, Tuesday. Six Pac-10 men's and women's tennis teams will begin play for an NCAA Championship at regional sites from May 8-10. Seventh-seeded UCLA, eighth-seeded USC and ninth-seeded STANFORD will host regionals on the men's side, while seventh-seeded USC, eighth-seeded CALIFORNIA, 11th-seeded UCLA and 13th-seeded Stanford will all host women's regionals.

First- and second-round competition for the men will be conducted Friday-Saturday, May 8-9, while the women will hold the first two rounds May 8-10. The winners of each site will advance to the NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Championships at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center in College Station, Texas, hosted by Texas A&M University.The men's team championship will be held May 14-19, while the women's team championship will take place May 15-19.

The UCLA men posted a perfect 6-0 record in Conference play to earn the Pac-10's automatic bid to the postseason. The Bruins (17-4) will host Southern Illinois (18-6) in the first round of the tournament.

USC will also host first- and second-round action in Los Angeles. The Trojans (19-5) will take on UC Santa Barbara (11-13) in the first round.

Two men's teams will play in the Stanford Regional. The host Cardinal (18-5) will face Sacramento State, while Cal (11-10) will make the trip across the Bay to take on Pepperdine (19-9) in a first-round match-up on Stanford's campus.

The Arizona and Washington men were also selected to the field of 64 and will travel to the Lone Star state for the first two rounds of play. The Wildcats (17-5) will travel to College Station, Texas to face A&M-Corpus Christi (14-8) and the Huskies (14-8) will take on Texas Tech (13-11) in Austin, Texas.

On the women's side, all six teams will play first- and second-round matches in the state of California. USC captured its first-ever Pac-10 team championship with an 8-0 record in Conference matches. The seventh-seeded Trojans (20-2), the Pac-10's automatic qualifier, will host Fairfield (16-4) in the first round. The Washington Huskies (16-7) will travel to Los Angeles to open their tournament against San Diego State (17-8) on USC's campus.

Across town, UCLA, the defending national champion, will also host a regional. The Bruins (17-6) will begin their run at a second-straight title as they host Boston University (14-5). The Arizona State Sun Devils (11-8) will also play in UCLA's regional, facing UNLV (20-7) in the first round.

Cal and Stanford will both host regional sites as well. The Golden Bears (17-4) will take on Long Island (10-7) in the first round, while the Cardinal (17-4) draws Wichita State (21-5).

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament at 16 first- and second-round sites (four teams at each site) and the finals site (16-team bracket) to determine the national champion. The matches shall be regulation dual matches with three (3) eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played best of three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at eight games all in doubles and at six games all in singles.


Individually, USC's Robert Farah is the Pac-10's automatic qualifier and the eighth seed overall in the singles competition. He is joined in the men's single's field of 64 by teammate Steve Johnson, Stanford's Alex Clayton and Bradley Klahn, UCLA's Haythem Abid and Washington's Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan. Arizona's Jay Goldman and UCLA's Matt Brooklyn are listed as alternates.

In doubles, Farah and Johnson earned the Conference's automatice bid and are the one of the top-8 eight seeds. The USC tandem is joined in the doubles field by Cal's duo of Geoff Chizever and Pedro Zerbini. Stanford's Klahn and Ryan Thacher and UW's Derek Drabble and Martin Kildahl will be alternates.


The Pac-10 sends 15 women's players into the individual competition. Stanford sophomore Hilary Barte is the Pac-10's automatic qualifier and the seventh seed overall. Also in the top-16 are Arizona State's Kelcy McKenna, Cal's Jana Juricova and UCLA's Yasmin Schnack.

Completing the the Conference selections are Arizona's Natasha Marks, the runner-up at the Pac-10 championships, Nadia Abdala of ASU, Cal's Mari Andersson, Bojana Bobusic, Marina Cossou and Claire Ilcinkas, UCLA's Andrea Remynse, USC's Sarah Fansler, Amanda Fink, the Pac-10 singles champion, and Maria Sanchez and Washington's Venise Chan.

In doubles, UCLA's team of Remynse and Schnack garnered the Conference's automatic bid and are the third overall seed in the competition. In fact, the Pac-10 claims four of the eight seeds in the doubles draw. Cal's Andersson/Juricova, USC's Fink/Niculescu and Stanford's Lindsay Burdette/Barte round out the top-8.

Also playing in the double's field are Arizona State's Micaela Hein and McKenna, while Cal's duo of Ilcinkas and Cossou and Stanford's pair of Carolyn McVeigh and Jessica Nguyen were selected as alternates.

The singles and doubles competition will be conducted May 20-25 also on the campus of Texas A&M. All matches shall be the best of three sets. Regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six games will be used for all matches.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder