Seven Pac-10 Women's Golf Teams Earn Postseason Bids

April 27, 2009

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.-- With two Pac-10 teams earning No. 1 seeds, the NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Committee announced the teams selected to participate in the 2009 NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championship Regional, May 7-9.

Arizona State, earning the Conference’s automatic bid after winning the 2009 Pac-10 Women’s Golf Championship presented by Duramed, was awarded the No. 1 seed in the West Regional, hosted at the Sun Devil’s own Karsten Golf Course in Tempe, Ariz.  UCLA was also named a No. 1 seed, participating in the Central Regional at the Ohio State University Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio.

The Pac-10 has a total of seven teams earning postseason bids.  Joining Arizona State in the West Region is No. 2 USC, No. 7 Arizona, No. 8 California, and No. 14 Oregon.  Stanford will travel to the Central Regional as the ninth seed to compete with UCLA.

Regional tournaments are considered preliminary rounds of the NCAA championships competition.  From each regional, the top eight teams and two individuals advance to the National Championship held May 19-22 at the Caves Valley Golf Club, hosted by Georgetown University in Owings Mills, Md.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder