Cal's Guinn, USC's Green Named To The Brooks Wallace Award Watch List

April 30, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

LUBBOCK, Texas -- With conference play in full swing across the country, the College Baseball Foundation and Mizuno have announced the initial watch list for the 2009 Brooks Wallace Award. California's Brian Guinn and USC's Grant Green are among the shortstops named to the list.

For the first time since its creation in 2004, the Wallace Award will honor the country's finest shortstop. Previously, the Wallace Award was given to the national player of the year.

The change was made following the creation of the College Baseball Awards Show, in collaboration with the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association and the Dick Howser Trophy Committee. The Howser Trophy has recognized the best overall player in the country for 23 years and will continue to do so. Both the Wallace Award and the Howser Award will be presented as part of the College Baseball Awards Show on July 2 in Lubbock.

'Transitioning the Wallace Award to a position player award will give increased attention to the position that Brooks Wallace played when he was in college,' said Raymond Richardson, CBF board member and College Baseball Awards Show chair. 'The Wallace family embraced this idea and we are thrilled to honor Brooks in this way.'

The watch list features shortstops from around the country, including three from the Big 12, ACC, Big West and Conference USA, while the Pac-10 boasts two.

Brian Marquez of New Mexico State makes the list with 60 RBIs, 18 home runs and a .393 batting average.

Drew Lee of Morehead State leads in batting average, hitting .465 with 14 home runs and 49 RBIs.

Also making the list is Baylor's Shaver Hanson, who is hitting .354, with 13 home runs and 38 RBIs.

The College Baseball Awards Show will recognize the top players in college baseball as part of the CBF's annual celebration, which also includes the National College Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. In addition to the Brooks Wallace Award, other awards presented during the show will include the Dick Howser Trophy for the national player of the year, and the National Pitcher of the Year Award.

View the full Wallace Watch list by clicking on the attached PDF.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder