Former Stanford Great Ken Margerum Selected to College Football Hall of Fame

April 30, 2009

STANFORD, Calif. - The National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame announced its 2009 list of inductees today and former Stanford All-America wide receiver Ken Margerum is included among the list of 16 players and two coaches from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision who have been selected to enter college football's ultimate shrine.

Margerum's selection brings Stanford's total to 24 former players and coaches who have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Margerum is the first Stanford player to earn hall of fame honors since linebacker Jeff Siemon (1969-71) was inducted in 2006.

Joining Margerum on this year's list of inductees are Pervis Atkins (New Mexico State; 1958-60); Tim Brown (Notre Dame; 1984-87); Chuck Cecil (Arizona; 1984-87); Ed Dyas (Auburn; 1958-60); Major Harris (West Virginia; 1987-89); Gordon Hudson (Brigham Young; 1980-83); William Lewis (Harvard; 1892-93); Woodrow Lowe (Alabama; 1972-75); Steve McMichael (Texas; 1976-79); Chris Spielman (Ohio State; 1984-87); Larry Station (Iowa; 1982-85); Pat Swilling (Georgia Tech; 1982-85); Gino Torretta (Miami, Fla.; 1989-92); Curt Warner (Penn State; 1979-82); Grant Wistrom (1994-97).

Also included are coaches Dick McPherson (Massachusetts; 1971-77; Syracuse; 1981-89) and John Robinson (USC, 1976-82; Nevada-Las Vegas, 1999-2004).

A four-year letterwinner from 1977-80, Margerum finished his collegiate career as the school's all-time leading receiver with 141 receptions for 2,430 yards and 30 receiving touchdowns. The Fountain Valley, Calif. native still ranks first on Stanford's career charts for receiving touchdowns and is 10th in career receptions.

He also holds three of the top five spots on the school's all-time single-season list for receiving touchdowns and still ranks seventh on the single-season top 10 for receiving yardage.

A three-time Pac-10 Conference first team selection, Margerum still shares the Pac-10 record for most touchdown receptions in a single-game (4 vs. Oregon State, 1980) and his 30 career TD receptions set a conference record, which has since been broken.

Margerum was a consensus two-time first team AP and UPI All-American in 1979 and 1980. He was the first Stanford player to earn consensus All-America honors as a junior since Bill McColl in 1950. He is also Stanford's only two-time All-American at the wide receiver position.

Margerum was a key member of two bowl-winning teams. As a freshman, he helped Stanford to a 24-14 win over LSU in the 1977 Sun Bowl. A year later, Stanford knocked off Georgia in the 1978 Bluebonnet Bowl and finished the season ranked 15th in the final AP poll.

A third round draft pick by the Chicago Bears in 1981, Margerum enjoyed a seven-year NFL career with the Bears (1981-86) and San Francisco 49ers (1986-87). He earned a Super Bowl ring with the Bears in Super Bowl XX.

Margerum currently serves as the wide receivers coach at San Jose State.

The 2009 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision Class will be inducted at the National Football Foundation's Annual Awards Dinner on December 8, 2009 in New York City. They will be officially enshrined at the Hall in South Bend, Ind. during ceremonies in the summer of 2010.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network