John Robinson Named To College Football Hall Of Fame

April 30, 2009

John Robinson, one of USC's most popular and successful football coaches who guided the Trojans to the 1978 national championship and into 8 bowl games, has been named to the 18-member 2009 Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A) Class of the College Football Hall of Fame.

Robinson will be inducted at a Dec. 4 dinner in New York City and then enshrined into the College Football Hall of Fame in ceremonies in the summer of 2010 in South Bend, Ind.

He is third USC head coach selected to the College Football Hall of Fame, joining Howard Jones and John McKay. He becomes the 36th Trojan, including 28 players, in the Hall. A Trojan has been elected into the Hall in 8 of the past 10 years.

Robinson joins Dick McPherson, who coached at Massachusetts (1971-77) and Syracuse (1981-90), as the coaching selections in the 2010 class.

The 16 players in the 2010 class are: halfback Pervis Atkins of New Mexico (1958-60), wide receiver Tim Brown of Notre Dame (1984-87), defensive back Chuck Cecil of Arizona (1984-87), fullback Ed Dyas of Auburn (1958-60), quarterback Major Harris of West Virginia (1987-89), tight end Gordon Hudson of BYU (1980-83), center William Lewis of Harvard (1892-93), linebacker Woodrow Lowe of Alabama (1972-75), wide receiver Ken Margerum of Stanford (1977-80), defensive tackle Steve McMichael of Texas (1976-79), linebacker Chris Spielman of Ohio State (1984-87), linebacker Larry Station of Iowa (1982-85), defensive end Pat Swilling of Georgia Tech (1982-85), quarterback Gino Torretta of Miami, Fla. (1989-92), running back Curt Warner of Penn State (1979-82) and defensive end Grant Wistrom of Nebraska (1994-97).

Robinson won 74.1% of his games while compiling a 104-35-4 record during 2 coaching stints spread over 12 years at USC (1976-82 and 1993-97), recording more victories than any Trojan gridiron coach except Jones and McKay. He produced 24 All-American first teamers, 22 NFL first rounders, 2 Heisman Trophy winners and a Lombardi Award winner at USC. He was inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame in 2004, based on his 5-0 record in the Pasadena classic. He twice was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year (1976 and 1978).

After spending 12 years (1960-71) as an assistant at Oregon, his alma mater, he became a Trojan assistant for 3 seasons (1972-74) as Troy won a pair of national crowns.

He also served as the head coach of the Los Angeles Rams (1983-91), twice advancing to the NFC title game, and at UNLV (1999-2004), where he was the Mountain West Coach of the Year in 2000, and was an assistant with the Oakland Raiders in 1975.

He currently does analysis on college football national radio broadcasts.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder