Gray-Lawson, Vital Invited to Team USA Tryouts

May 1, 2009


California Golden Bear guards Alexis Gray-Lawson and Natasha Vital have been invited to the trials for Team USA for this year's Women's World University Games. 30 players from across the country, including seven from the Pac-10, have been invited to the trials.

Trials to select finalists for the 2009 USA Basketball Women's World University Games Team will be held May 14-17 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo. The finalists will return to Colorado Springs on June 18 for training camp and train in Colorado until the team departs for Belgrade on June 25. The 12-member team will be named prior to the team's departure for Serbia.

The World University Games is a multi-sport competition organized by the International University Sports Federation and held every other year. The 2009 women's basketball competition will take place July 1-11 in Belgrade, Serbia. Eligible athletes for the USA team must be currently enrolled in a college or university and have remaining NCAA athletic eligibility.

California Golden Bears head coach Joanne Boyle was recently appointed to the 2009-2012 Women's Junior National Team Committee. The University Games team will be coached by Arizona State head coach Charli Turner Thorne with Michigan State's Suzy Merchant and Pepperdine's Julie Rouseeau serving as assistant coaches.

Complete list of invitees: Danielle Adams (Jefferson Junior College),Jayne Appel (Stanford), Jessica Breland (North Carolina), Kelford, Doreena Campbell (UCLA),Tina Charles (Connecticut), Alysha Clark (Middle Tennessee), Cetera Degraffenreid (North Carolina), Dawn Evans (James Madison), Tyra Grant (Penn State), Alexis Gray-Lawson (California), Whitney Hand (Oklahoma), Tiffany Hayes (Connecticut), Allison Hightower (Lousiana State), Jareica Hughes (University Texas-El Paso), Ashley Houts (Georgia), Ify Ibekwe (Arizona), Amy Jaeschke (Northwestern), Jantel Lavender (Ohio State), Danielle McCray (Kansas), Jacinta Monroe (Florida State), Maya Moore (Connecticut), Kayla Pedersen (Stanford), Ta'Shia Phillips (Xavier), Jeanette Pohlen (Stanford), Epiphanny Prince (Rutgers), Alex Rack (Mississippi State), Danielle Robinson (Oklahoma), Carolyn Swords (Boston College), Courtney Vandersloot (Gonzaga), Natasha Vital (California).

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder