Pac-10 Announces 2009 Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams

May 4, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - USC junior Robert Farah has been named the Pac-10 Men’s Tennis Singles Player of the Year, while Farah and freshman teammate Steve Johnson have been named Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year. STANFORD’S Bradley Klahn has earned the Conference’s Freshman of the Year honors and ARIZONA’S Tad Berkowitz was named Coach of the Year. The awards are determined by a vote of the league’s coaches.

Farah, a native of Cali, Colombia, becomes the first USC player to garner Pac-10 Singles Player of the Year accolades since 1994, and the sixth Trojan overall to earn the honor. The junior is the Conference’s highest-ranked singles player, currently holding the No. 8 spot on the ITA’s top-125. He has compiled a 26-6 overall record and was 12-3 in dual matches this season. The junior has won at least 22 singles matches in each of his three seasons at USC. In January, Farah defeated the 2008 Pac-10 Player of the Year, Stanford’s Alex Clayton, to capture the Sherwood Cup Championship in Thousand, Oaks, Calif. During the season, he was sidelined for six matches due to injury, but retured to win both his singles and doubles maches against Arizona on Apr. 10. For his efforts he was named Pac-10 Player of the Week for the second time in his career. Farah has earned the Conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Singles Championship, where he will be the eighth overall seed in the tournament.

Farah and Johnson, an Orange, Calif. native, are the second straight Trojan duo to be named Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year, as Farah won the honor last season with Kaes Van’t Hof. The tandem has posted a 29-9 overall record this season and were 15-5 in dual match play, including a perfect 4-0 in Pac-10 contests. They won the ITA West Regional Championship in October and reached the finals of the ITA National Indoor Championships in January. The pair are currently the fourth-ranked doubles team in the nation as they head into the NCAA Tournament. The Pac-10’s automatic qualifiers, Farah and Johnson are one of the top-8 seeds in the 2009 NCAA Doubles draw.

Klahn is the fifth Cardinal to earn Pac-10 Freshman of the Year honors since the awards inception in 2000. The Poway, Calif., native has racked up an impressive 33-7 overall record, 18-4 dual record, in his debut at Stanford. The rookie is currently ranked No. 34 in the ITA top-125 and is 18-6 versus nationally ranked opponents this season. Klahn made a name for himself at the Pac-10 Championships in Ojai, Calif., winning both the Singles and Doubles titles. He defeated five oppenents in stragiht sets to win his first Pac-10 singles crown. He is one of five Pac-10 players to earn an at-large bid into the 2009 NCAA Tournament. Klahn and doubles partner Ryan Thacher are 10-3 overall and 5-0 against ranked opponents. The pair will be one of six alternates for the upcoming NCAA Doubles Championships.

Berkowitz, a Tampa Bay, Fla., native, has guided the Wildcats to their first NCAA Tournament berth since 2006 as Arizona finished the regular season with a 17-5 record and a top-25 ranking. In his fourth season at the helm of the program, the Wildcats posted a 14-1 record in Tucson, including a win over Stanford on Apr. 3. It was just the third Arizona victory over the Cardinal in 63 tries. Sophomore Jay Goldman has posted an 11-6 record playing in the No. 1 singles position. Goldman currently holds a No. 61 national ranking and has been selected as one of eight alternates for the 2009 NCAA Singles Championship.


NAME Year School
Haythem Abid Sr. UCLA
Alex Clayton So. Stanford
Robert Farah Jr. USC
Steve Johnson Fr. USC
Bradley Klahn Fr. Stanford
Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan So. Washington
Pedro Zerbini So. California


NAME Year School
Matt Brooklyn Jr. UCLA
Patrik Fischer Sr. Washington
Jay Goldman So. Arizona
Michael Look Sr. UCLA
Jaak Poldma So. USC
Ryan Thacher Fr. Stanford


NAME Year School
Alexander Cornelissen Jr. Oregon
Martin Kildahl So. Washington
Abdullah Magdas Sr. USC
Nick Meister So. UCLA
Holden Seguso So. UCLA
Harel Srugo Sr. UCLA
Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder