Four Pac-10 Softball Players Named Finalists for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award

May 6, 2009

Oklahoma City, Okla.--The Amateur Softball Association of America (ASA), the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, has selected its 10 Finalists for the 8th Annual USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award.  Four of the 10 finalist are members of Pac-10 institutions.  Arizona junior Stacie Chambers, Arizona State senior Kaitlin Cochran, Washington junior pitcher Danielle Lawrie and Stanford pitcher Missy Penna all made the list.

This award, which is considered the most prestigious honors in Division I women’s collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Past winners of this award include UCLA’s Stacey Nuveman.

The three finalists will be announced May 20th while the winner of the 2009 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced prior to the start of the 2009 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City.


2009 Top 10 Finalists for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year

Stacie Chambers (Arizona) – Junior – Catcher – Glendale, Ariz.

Kaitlin Cochran (Arizona State) - Senior- Outfield - Yorba Linda, Calif.

Amber Flores (Oklahoma) – Junior – Infield – Calexico, Calif.

Alisa Goler (Georgia) – Sophomore – Infield – Frankfort, Ill.

Danielle Lawrie (Washington) – Junior - Pitcher – Langley, British Columbia

Charlotte Morgan (Alabama) – Junior– Pitcher/Utility – Moreno Valley, Calif.

Stacey Nelson (Florida) – Senior – Pitcher – Los Alamitos, Calif.

Amber Patton (DePaul) – Senior – Third Base - Forsyth, Ill.

Missy Penna (Stanford) – Senior – Pitcher/Infield – Miami, Fla.

Tammy Williams (Northwestern) – Senior – Infield - Roscoe, Mo.


Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder