Missy Penna Among 10 National Player Of The Year Finalists

May 6, 2009

Stanford, Calif. - Stanford senior pitcher Missy Penna is among 10 finalists for USA Softball's Collegiate Player of the Year award announced the Amateur Softball Association of America (ASA) today.

The 10 finalists represent five conferences, and include four players from the Pac-10. The award, which is considered the most prestigious honor in collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by players across the country. Past winners include UCLA's Stacey Nuveman, Florida State's Jessica Van der Linden, three-time winner Texas pitcher Cat Osterman, Tennessee's Monica Abbott and Virginia Tech's Angela Tincher.

Penna was the first active pitcher in the nation to reach 1,200 career strikeouts last Friday and ranks among the top 10 pitchers in the nation with 17 shutouts (2nd), 31 wins (3rd) and 310 strikeouts (6th). She is a five-time winner of the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week award this year, and after stifling two of the nation's top three offenses last week, swept both the USA Softball and NFCA National Player of the Week awards for the second time this year.

In her remarkable senior year, Penna has rewritten the Stanford record books and broken nearly every school pitching mark. She is the school's shutout, strikeout and win leader and recently became the first pitcher in school history to throw 1,000 innings. She is among the 20 winningest pitchers in NCAA history and among the top 25 strikeout leaders of all-time.

As a senior this year, Penna has the Cardinal at its highest rank in school history (No. 2) with a 44-6 overall record and a conference-leading 13-5 mark in the Pac-10.

Along with Penna, the finalists include Arizona catcher Stacie Chambers, Arizona State outfielder Kaitlin Cochran, Oklahoma infielder Amber Flores, Georgia infielder Alisa Goler, Washington pitcher Danielle Lawrie, Alabama pitcher/utilty Charlotte Morgan, Florida pitcher Stacey Nelson, DePaul infielder Amber Patton and Northwestern infielder Tammy Williams.

The list will be narrowed to three finalists on May 20. The winner of the 2009 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced prior to the start of the 2009 NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder