Jean Basson Qualifies for World Championships

May 8, 2009

JOHANNESBURG, South Africa - Current Arizona Wildcat Jean Basson has been chosen to represent South Africa during the FINA World Championships in Rome, Italy from July 17-August 2.


Basson, who won the 500 freestyle NCAA individual crown in March, was named to the 21-person roster today. Joining Basson on the South African team will be former Wildcats Lyndon Ferns, Roland Schoeman and Darian Townsend.


Ferns, Schoeman, Townsend and Wildcat legend Ryk Neethling combined to win gold in the 4 x 100 meter relay during the Athens Olympics in 2004.


'Following the highly successful Telkom SA National Aquatics Championships held in Durban last month, Swimming SA is proud to be able to send a full-strength national team to represent SA at the FINA World Championships in Rome, Italy and looks forward to seeing our athletes producing world class performances as we continue to build our country's reputation of being a leading swimming nation on the world map,' said Swimming SA CEO, Shaun Adriaanse.


Basson will swim the 200m and 400m freestyle events.  In the 2008 Beijing Olympics, Basson placed fourth overall in the 200m freestyle.


Schoeman and Ferns will compete in sprint freestyle events for South Africa while Townsend will be on display in the 100m butterfly and 200 individual medley.



Name Province Events
Jean Basson                             200m & 400m freestyle
William Diering                         200m breaststroke
George du Rand                       100m and 200m backstroke
Lyndon Ferns                           50m & 100m freestyle, 100m butterfly
Chad le Clos                            400m individual medley
Thabang Moeketsane               50m & 100m breaststroke
Graeme Moore                         50m butterfly
Darren Murray                         200m backstroke
Sebastien Rousseau                 200m butterfly
Riaan Schoeman                       200m & 400m individual medley
Roland Schoeman                     50m & 100m freestyle, 50m butterfly
Darian Townsend                     100m butterfly, 200m individual medley
Cameron van der Burgh            50m & 100m breaststroke
Charl van Zyl                            50m backstroke
Jasper Venter                           200m freestyle
Neil Versfeld                            200m breaststroke
Gerhard Zandberg                   50m backstroke

Kathryn Meaklim                      200m & 400m individual medley
Jessica Pengelly                       200m & 400m individual medley
Wendy Trott                             800m & 1500m freestyle
Chanelle van Wyk                   50m backstroke


Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder