California Earns 24th Consecutive NCAA Tournament Berth

May 10, 2009


The No. 12 California Golden Bears (35-18) earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Softball Tournament. The Bears are one of 64 teams who will be competing at 16 regional sites in a double-elimination tournament. The top 16 teams were seeded in order, and the remaining teams were placed in regional brackets to create balanced competition and avoid conference match-ups, when possible. The winners of the regionals will advance to two-team super regionals that will be used to determine the eight teams in the 2009 Women's College World Series.

The Bears will be playing in Tallahassee, Florida May 15-17. They open up the regional by taking on Mississippi State (28-26). The 16th-seeded host school Florida State (41-14) and Oklahoma St. (34-20) round out the regional.

California is playing in their 24th consecutive NCAA tournament, the second longest streak in the nation. The Bears advanced last season from the Fresno Regional to go on to play the No. 1 seed Florida Gators in the super regional, falling in two games to the Gators. The Bears have played in 10 NCAA Women's College World Series, making their last appearance in 2005. The Bears won the National Championship in 2002 and made three consecutive title game appearances from 2002-04.

Game times and live stats links will be posted once they are announced.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder