Eight Bruins Named to All-Pac-10 Team, Inouye-Perez Named Coach of the Year

May 13, 2009

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Eight Bruins earned All-Pacific-10 honors as announced by the conference on Wednesday, while head coach Kelly Inouye-Perez was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

The Pac-10 Champions garnered four first-team honors, the most of any team. Senior Amanda Kamekona, juniors Megan Langenfeld and Kaila Shull and sophomore Katie Schroeder all received first-team accolades. Earning second-team plaudits were sophomores GiOnna DiSalvatore and Monica Harrison, while junior Julie Burney and freshman Andrea Harrison received honorable mention accolades. Harrison was also honored on the Pac-10 All-Freshman Team, as was Dani Yudin, who earned an honorable mention award.

The eight all-conference nods match last year's total for the Bruins. Kamekona was named to the first team for the second straight season, Langenfeld earned her third All-Pac-10 award after receiving second-team honors in 2007 and 2008 and DiSalvatore (second team in `08), Schroeder (honorable mention in `08) and Shull (honorable mention in `07) picked up their second conference awards. Burney and Andrea and Monica Harrison all received their first All-Pac-10 recognitions.

Inouye-Perez was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year for the first time after guiding the Bruins to wins in 15 of their last 16 conference games. It is UCLA's seventh Pac-10 Coach of the Year award. Sharron Backus received the honor in 1990, 1992 and 1993, while Sue Enquist won it in 1999 and 2006. Backus and Enquist were named co-Coaches of the Year in 1995.

The second-seeded Bruins begin NCAA Tournament play on Friday when they host Long Beach State at Easton Stadium at 3:30 p.m. The first game of the day pits Fresno State against UNLV at 1 p.m.

Pacific-10 Conference Coach of the Year
Kelly Inouye-Perez

All-Pacific-10 Conference First Team
Amanda Kamekona, 2B
Megan Langenfeld, P/1B
Katie Schroeder, OF
Kaila Shull, C

All-Pacific-10 Conference Second Team
GiOnna DiSalvatore, 1B/OF
Monica Harrison, SS

All-Pacific-10 Conference Honorable Mention
Julie Burney, 3B
Andrea Harrison, OF

Pacific-10 All-Freshman Team
Andrea Harrison, OF
Dani Yudin, C/DP (honorable mention)

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder