Men's Golf Continues Hot Pace At West Regional

May 15, 2009

Click here to access USF's official NCAA West Regional Site

Click here to access ASU's year-by-year finishes at the Pac-10, NCAA Regional and NCAA Championships

Arizona State received three bogey-free rounds en route to a second round total of 13-under par 275 and holds a six-shot lead after two rounds of the 2009 NCAA Division I Men's Golf West Regional Championships that is being contested at the par-72, 6,849-yard Lake Merced Golf Club in Daly City, Calif.

ASU is heading towards its seventh straight NCAA championship appearance as it has shot the best two rounds of the tournament, as it posted a 9-under 279 on Thursday and is at 22-under 554. Jesper Kennegard (68), Chan Kim (67) and Scott Pinckney (70) combined to shoot 11-under par without a bogey on Friday. Oregon posted a second-round score of 10-under par 278 and is in second place at 16-under par 560.

Kennegard, who opened the second round in second place before his bogey-free round, shot a 4-under 68 with four birdies and leads the field with a 10-under par 134. The Sun Devil sophomore had posted two rounds in the 60s all season in 10 events but has done that in each of the first two rounds at the West Regional. He entered the tournament with a 73.47 stroke average this year in 10 events and a 72.75 stroke average in his 22-event career. He has six top-10 finishes in his career, including medalist honors at the 2008 Hawaii-Hilo Intercollegiate.

He holds a three-shot lead over first-round leader Matthew Giles of USC, who is in second place with a 7-under par score of 137. Kim and Robbie Ziegler are tied for third with 6-under par totals of 138. Five players are tied for fifth at 5-under par 139.

Freshman Chan Kim shot a 5-under 67 and is a 6-under 138 and tied for third, while Knut Borsheim is tied for fifth at 5-under 139 (69-70).

Stephan Gross is tied for 27th at even-par 144 (73-71) while Scott Pinckney is at 1-over 145 (75-70) after improving his first-day score by five strokes.

ASU has won or tied for the title in a NCAA Regional five times. ASU tied with Arizona in 1991 and tied with New Mexico in 1998. It won the title outright in 1995, 1999 and 2001. Sun Devil Paul Casey won the 1998 individual title outright followed by Jeff Quinney (1999) and then Benjamin Alvarado Holley (2007). Matt Jones shared medalist honors in 2001.

The 54-hole tournament concludes on Saturday with the first tee time set for 8:30 a.m. The top five teams, along with the top individual not on a qualifying team, advance to the NCAA Championships scheduled for May 26-30 at Inverness Club in Toledo, Ohio.

Team Scores
1. Arizona State - 279-275 - 554 (-22)
2. Oregon - 282-278 - 560 (-16)
3. San Diego - 288-278 - 566 (-10)
4. Texas A&M - 281-286 - 567 (-9)
5. Southern California - 285-284 - 569 (-7)
6. San Francisco - 291-280 - 571 (-5)
7. New Mexico - 280-292 - 572 (-4)
8. San Diego State - 286-287 - 573 (-3)
9. UC Irvine - 289-287 - 576 (E)
T10. UC Davis - 298-285 - 583 (+7)
T10. Oregon State - 300-283 - 583 (+7)
12. Colorado - 291-294 - 585 (+9)
13. Kansas State - 294-292 - 586 - (+10)

Top 10 Individuals
1. Jesper Kennegard (Arizona State) - 66-68 - 134 (-10)
2. Matthew Giles (USC) - 65-72 - 137 (-7)
T3. Chan Kim (Arizona State) - 71-67 - 138 (-6)
T3. Robbie Ziegler (Oregon) - 69-69 - 138 (-6)
T5. Knut Borsheim (Arizona State) - 69-70 - 139 (-5)
T5. John Hurley (Texas A&M) - 67-72 - 139 (-5)
T5. Brady Johnson* (BYU) - 67-72 - 139 (-5)
T5. Kyle Prolo (San Francisco) - 71-68 - 139 (-5)
T5. Isaiah Telles (Oregon) - 72-67 - 139 (-5)
T10. Tom Glissmeyer (Southern California) - 72-68 - 140 (-4)
T10. Daniel Miernicki (Oregon) - 69-71 - 140 (-4)
T10. Steve Saunders (New Mexico) - 67-73 - 140 (-4)

START IT OVER: Back in 2002, ASU head coach Randy Lein saw ASU's 18-year NCAA championship consecutive streak snapped in a season that had injuries and some bad luck. ASU is back in the saddle with six straight appearances, and to show you how competitive the NCAA men's golf champioships is, that streak already is tied for the fourth-best active streak, as Arizona (1987-2007) had a 21-year streak snapped last year after failing to post a .500 record and not make regionals, while Georgia Tech did not qualify out of regional action after making the NCAAs for 10 straight years (1998-2007).

Oklahoma State, 1947-2008, 62
Georgia, 1998-2008, 11
Florida, 2001-2008, 8
Arizona State, 2003-2008, 6
UCLA, 2003-2008, 6

2009 NCAA Men's Golf Regional Sites (May 14-16)
The Club at Olde Stone - Bowling Green, Kentucky (Western Kentucky)
Galloway National Golf Club - Galloway, New Jersey (Columbia)
Red Tail Golf Club - Sorrento, Florida (Florida)
University of Texas Golf Club - Austin, Texas (Texas)
Karsten Creek Golf Club - Stillwater, Oklahoma (Oklahoma State)
Lake Merced Golf Club - Daly City, California (University of San Francisco)

NCAA MEN'S GOLF CHAMPIONSHIP FORMAT: The NCAA Nationals run May 26-30, 2009. The finals also have a new format, with the final eight teams after 54 holes facing off in match play to determine the national champion. The individual winner will be crowned after 54 holes instead of 72 as in past years.

2009 NCAA WEST REGIONAL FIELD (By Seeding): 1- Southern California, 2- Texas A&M, 3- Arizona State, 4- San Diego State, 5- UC Davis, 6- Oregon, 7- New Mexico, 8- Colorado, 9- UC Irvine, 10- Kansas State, 11- Oregon State, 12- San Diego, 13- San Francisco.

LIVE SCORING: Hole-by-hole live scoring is available via and will be posted on the website.

ABOUT LAKE MERCED GOLF CLUB: The host site of the 2009 NCAA Men's Golf Regional, the Lake Merced Golf Club owns a storied history. Originally designed by Willie Lock in 1922, Lake Merced Golf Club was redesigned in 1929 under the guidance of fabled architect Dr. Alister MacKenzie. When Interstate 280 was constructed in the early 1960's, the Club utilized vacant land acquired in the 1920's and retained Robert Muir Graves to reroute the course as necessary to create the basis of today's championship layout. The golf course underwent a major renovation in 1996 under the direction of Rees Jones, known the world over for his brilliant restoration of legendary championship venues. Lake Merced has hosted numerous Collegiate, NCGA and USGA events, including the 1990 U.S. Junior Amateur Championship (Tiger Woods's debut in USGA competition). Lake Merced regularly hosts sectional qualifying for both the U.S. Open and the U.S. Women's Open.

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIP APPEARANCES: ASU has made 15 NCAA Championship appearances in Randy Lein's 16 years (1993-2008), tied for the second-best mark in the nation, as it will try for its 16th May 14-16.

Oklahoma State-16
Arizona State, Arizona, Florida-15
Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Wake Forest-13
Auburn, New Mexico, Texas, UNLV-12

REGIONAL STREAK: Counting its appearance in the 21 years a NCAA Regional has been staged (1989-2009), ASU has now made 26 straight NCAA postseason appearances, the fifth-longest active streak in the nation. ASU has advanced to the NCAA Championships 24 of the past 25 seasons (1984-2008), missing only in 2002, and in 43 of the past 45 seasons (1964-2008), missing prior to 2002 in 1983.

Oklahoma State, 1947-09, 63
USC, 1973-09, 37
Texas, 1978-09, 32
Clemson, 1982-09, 28
Arizona State, 1984-09, 26
Georgia Tech, 1985-09, 25
*Note: List includes NCAA Championship prior to 1989 and reaching at least NCAA Regionals from 1989-present.

3-1: UC Irvine
2-0: Oregon State
2-1: Texas A&M, UC Davis
2-2: Oregon
1-0: New Mexico, San Diego, San Francisco
1-2: San Diego State
1-4: USC
0-0: Kansas State
0-1: Colorado

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder