Four Pac-10 Women's Golf Teams Tee Off NCAA Title Run

May 18, 2009

NCAA Live Scoring | NCAA Women's Golf

OWINGS MILLS, Md.-- Competition begins Tuesday as Arizona State, UCLA, USC and Arizona all compete towards a team title at the 2009 NCAA Women's Golf Championships. Oregon's Catherine Bristow will compete as an individual. The four-round tournament, hosted by Georgetown, will be held at the par-72, 6,443-yard Caves Valley Golf Club.

Arizona State and UCLA each won their respective regionals to earn No. 1 seeds. The Sun Devils and the Bruins will be paired together, along with the East Regional No. 1 seed Denver, in the first round of Championship competition.

The NCAA Championship field includes (Golfweek Rankings): No. 1 Arizona State, No. 2 UCLA, No. 3 USC, No. 4 Oklahoma State, No. 5 Wake Forest, No. 6 Virginia, No. 7 Alabama, No. 9 Purdue, No. 10 LSU, No. 11 Duke, No. 12 North Carolina, No. 13 Denver, No. 14 Pepperdine, No. 15 Georgia, No. 17 Arizona, No. 21 Michigan State, No. 22 New Mexico, No. 24 Tennessee, No. 26 Ohio State, No. 28 Tulane, No. 29 UC Irvine and No. 31 TCU.

Last season, the Pac-10 took home both the team and individual titles with USC claiming its second NCAA Championship (2008, 2003) and Arizona State junior Azahara Munoz capturing individual medalist honors.

The Trojans, winning their fourth-straight tournament, bested second-place UCLA by six strokes to nab the team title. ASU's Munoz' Championship victory was the first individual title of her career. The Sun Devil was the sixth all-time NCAA individual medalist in program history.

Eight teams and two individuals, not on a selected team, advanced from each region from 324 regional participants. All participants will compete throughout the entire 72 holes of championship competition. In the team competition, the low four scores from each team will count in each day's total score.

Live scoring for the tournament is available at and the NCAA will provide live webstreaming from the 16, 17 and 18 holes on Thursday and Friday at


(Pac-10 participants bolded)


1982 Tulsa Kathy Baker Tulsa

1983 TCU Penny Hammel Miami (Fla.)

1984 Miami (Fla.) Cindy Schreyer Georgia

1985 Florida Danielle Ammaccapane Arizona St.

1986 Florida Page Dunlap Florida

1987 San Jose St. Caroline Keggi New Mexico

1988 Tulsa Melissa McNamara Tulsa

1989 San Jose St. Pat Hurst San Jose St.

1990 Arizona St. Susan Slaughter Arizona

1991 UCLA Annika Sorenstam Arizona

1992 San Jose St. Vicki Goetze Georgia

1993 Arizona St. Charlotta Sorenstam Texas

1994 Arizona St. Emilee Klein Arizona St.

1995 Arizona St. Kristel Mourgue d'Algue Arizona St.

1996 Arizona Marisa Baena Arizona

1997 Arizona St. Heather Bowie Texas

1998 Arizona St. Jennifer Rosales USC

1999 Duke Grace Park Arizona St.

2000 Arizona Jenna Daniels Arizona

2001 Georgia Candy Hannemann Duke

2002 Duke Virada Nirapathpongporn Duke

2003 USC Mikaela Parmlid USC

2004 UCLA Sarah Huarte California

2005 Duke Anna Grzebien Duke

2006 Duke Dewi Schreefel USC

2007 Duke Stacy Lewis Arkansas

2008 USC Azahara Munoz Arizona St.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder