Arizona State Cruises to Seventh Women's Golf National Title

May 22, 2009

NCAA Championship Results | NCAA Women's Golf

OWINGS MILLS, Md.-- At one point distancing themselves from the competition by an 11-stroke margin, the top-ranked Arizona State cruised in the final round to claim the NCAA Women's Golf Championship, Friday, at the par-72 Caves Valley Golf Course. The Sun Devils shot a 30-over 1182 en route to the program's seventh NCAA team title and third consecutive tournament victory. ASU had previously won the 2009 Pac-10 Championship and the NCAA West Regional.

USC freshman Jennifer Song was in contention for the individual title up until the 18th hole of the last round. The Trojan, who led the field prior to the 18th hole, laid her first shot deep in the bunker off the final hole. Song went on to double-bogey the hole on a three putt, eliminating her chances for a play off. Purdue's Maria Hernandez, who finished the round earlier in the day, took the Individual Championship, shooting a four-round score of 289 (+1).

No. 2 UCLA finished the NCAA Championship eight strokes off first-place Arizona State, shooting a 38-over 1190, for second place. Maria Jose Uribe led the Bruins at 7-over 295 to tie for eighth. Uribe, who is turning pro after the season, shot a tournament-low 66 in the second round, only to fire back-to-back 77s in the final two rounds.

Battling the Sun Devils for the title earlier in the round, reigning National Champion USC slipped in to third place carding a 39-over 1191. The Trojans had spent much of the day in second, until Song's double-bogey vaulted UCLA in to the No. 2 spot.

Arizona, also competing at the Championships, finished in 16th, shooting an 83-over 1235. Oregon's Cathryn Bristow, competing as an individual, finished in a tie for 96th. The Duck carded a three-round score of 28-over 316.

The Sun Devil's National Championship marks the 13th women's golf title for the Pac-10. Arizona State leads the way with seven, followed by Arizona, UCLA and USC with two. Since 1989, only three non-Pac-10 teams have won a women's golf championship: San Jose State, Duke and Georgia.


(Pac-10 participants bolded)


1982 Tulsa Kathy Baker Tulsa

1983 TCU Penny Hammel Miami (Fla.)

1984 Miami (Fla.) Cindy Schreyer Georgia

1985 Florida Danielle Ammaccapane

Arizona St.

1986 Florida Page Dunlap Florida

1987 San Jose St. Caroline Keggi New Mexico

1988 Tulsa Melissa McNamara Tulsa

1989 San Jose St. Pat Hurst San Jose St.

1990 Arizona St. Susan Slaughter Arizona

1991 UCLA Annika Sorenstam Arizona

1992 San Jose St. Vicki Goetze Georgia

1993 Arizona St. Charlotta Sorenstam Texas

1994 Arizona St. Emilee Klein Arizona St.

1995 Arizona St. Kristel Mourgue d'Algue Arizona St.

1996 Arizona Marisa Baena Arizona

1997 Arizona St. Heather Bowie Texas

1998 Arizona St. Jennifer Rosales USC

1999 Duke Grace Park Arizona St.

2000 Arizona Jenna Daniels Arizona

2001 Georgia Candy Hannemann Duke

2002 Duke Virada Nirapathpongporn Duke

2003 USC Mikaela Parmlid USC

2004 UCLA Sarah Huarte California

2005 Duke Anna Grzebien Duke

2006 Duke Dewi Schreefel USC

2007 Duke Stacy Lewis Arkansas

2008 USC Azahara Munoz Arizona St.

2009 Arizona State Maria Hernandez Purdue

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder