Five Pac-10 Doubles Teams Advance To NCAA Round Of 16

May 22, 2009

  • Men's Singles Draw
  • Men's Doubles Draw
  • Women's Doubles Draw

    COLLEGE STATION, Texas - The Pacific-10 Conference has had five doubles teams advance to the Round of 16 in the 2009 NCAA Championships held at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center on the campus of Texas A&M. Three women's teams and two men's teams will be in action Friday as they look to move on to the quarterfinals and have a shot at the 2009 title.

    On the women's side, Arizona State's Kelcy McKenna and Micaela Hein, California's Mari Andersson and Jana Juricova and Stanford's Hilary Barte and Lindsay Burdette all won their first round matches on Thursday. Cal's pair will take on Michaela Kissell and Laura Vallverdu of Miami (Fla.) at 5 p.m. CT, while the Sun Devil duo will face Florida's Marrit Boonstra and Joanna Mather at 5:30 p.m. CT. Stanford's tandem will also take the courts at 5:30 p.m. CT, taking on SMU's Marta Lesniak and Aleksandra Malyarschikova.

    On the men's side, California's Geoff Chizever and Pedro Zerbini and USC's Robert Farah and Steve Johnson, one of the tournament's top-8 seeds, will both take the courts on Friday for the Round of 16. The Cal team will face No. 4 seed Jamie Hunt and Nate Schnugg of Georgia at 4 p.m. CT. The USC pair will take on Auburn's Tim Puetz and Alexey Tsyrenov at 3:30 p.m. CT.

    Friday's winners will play quarterfinals matches on Saturday, May 23 at times to be determined.

    The Pac-10 sent 15 women's players and six men's players into the Singles Championship, but all have been eliminated except for Stanford sophomore Alex Clayton. Last year's ITA Rookie of the Year defeated Baylor's Hordan Rux, 4-6, 7-5, 6-4, in the first round and third-seeded Bryan Koniecko of Ohio State, 6-4, 7-6 (4), in the Round of 32. Clayton will face Devin Britton of Mississippi in the quarterfinals on Saturday, May 23 at 10 a.m. CT.

    The championship matches for both singles and double play will take place on Monday, May 25 in College Station, Texas.

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    8:00 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder