Adrienne Martelli And Kayleigh Mack Named CRCA All-West Region

May 23, 2009

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - Two Husky oarswomen have been named to the 2009 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) All-West Region teams, as announced by the organization Saturday. These awards recognize the outstanding performances of rowers and coxswains from each of the five regions, organized into first- and second-team selections.

Juniors Adrienne Martelli and Kayleigh Mack have been honored by the CRCA as first- and second- team selections, respectively.

Martelli has raced on the starboard side of the women's varsity eight this season, spending the first half of the season in the five seat and moving to the stern pair for the latter half of the season. The University Park, Wash. native helped the Huskies retain the Windermere Cup by defeating the University of Miami and the U23 team of Brazil back on May 2. Martelli also helped the team to a sweep of Washington State in the annual Apple Cup of rowing. With her help, the Huskies managed a third-place team finish at the 2009 Pac-10 Championships on May 17. Martelli has been invited to attend U23 selection camp this summer, where she will vie for a spot on the U23 national team, competing at the U23 World Championships in Racice, Czech Republic July 23-26.

Mack, a native of Seattle, started the season in the seven seat, helping Washington to a sweep of Washington State on the Snake River. She also raced in the seven seat at the 23rd annual Windermere Cup, helping the Huskies retain the Windermere Cup trophy by defeating Miami (Fla.) and the U23 Brazilian team. Mack moved to the bow seat for the 2009 Pac-10 Championship, helping the varsity eight to a fourth-place finish and a third-place team finish.

Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team's regional finish, coaches' recommendations and 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their teams' varsity boat in 75 percent of races this season.

Martelli and Mack will be eligible for All-America awards selection following the NCAA Rowing Championships, slated for May 29-31 on the Cooper River in Camden, N.J.

All-West Region First Team
Liene Bertasjus - University of Southern California
Adrienne Fritsch - Stanford University
Ame Hicks - Oregon State University
Lou Kinder - University of California, Berkeley
Jenny Kossowsky - Oregon State University
Jenna Levy, coxswain - Stanford University
Erica Lewis - Washington State University
Elle Logan - Stanford University
Adrienne Martelli - University of Washington
Iva Obradovic - University of California, Berkeley
Erika Roddy - Stanford University

All-West Region Second TeamKatie Humm - Oregon State University
Elena Humphreys - University of California, Berkeley
Grace Luczak - Stanford University
Kayleigh Mack - University of Washington
Katy Milton, coxswain - University of California, Berkeley
Lauren Nowinski - University of California, Berkeley
Anna Specjalska - University of Southern California

All-New England Region First TeamCristina Caligiuri, coxswain - Brown University
Jeannette Daley - Boston University
Emily Dreissigacker - Dartmouth College
Tess Gerrand - Yale University
Laura Huppert - Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Esther Lofgren - Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Hannah Malvin - Brown University
Christina Person - Yale University
Jenessa Redfern - University of Rhode Island
Taylor Ritzel - Yale University
Jessica Stage - Brown University
Veronica Townsend - Northeastern University

All-New England Region Second Team
Olivia Coffey - Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Christine Glandorf - Yale University
Anna Kendrick - Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Eleanor Pascall - Dartmouth College
Hope Richardson - Brown University
Svenja Sanders - Northeastern University
Colleen Saville, coxswain - Northeastern University

All-Central Region First Team
Karen Colwell - University of Michigan
Laura Dunn, coxswain - University of Michigan
Ashley Kroll - University of Michigan
Adrienne Mecham - University of Michigan
Sarah Schmidt - Michigan State University
Emily Regan - Michigan State University
Theresa Shields - University of Wisconsin, Madison
Maggie Galloway - University of Wisconsin, Madison
Susanne Herbrand - Ohio State University
Jessica Novack - University of Iowa
Ashlee Vilmo - University of Minnesota

All-Central Region Second Team
Caitlin Trumble - University of Michigan
Amanda McGeachie, coxswain - Michigan State University
Laura Cowal - Michigan State University
Michelle Mussett - Michigan State University
Peta-Leigh Dakyns - Ohio State University
Kristin Kelly - University of Iowa
Jennifer Flannigan - Kansas State University
Ellie Benson - University of Indiana

All-Mid-Atlantic Region First Team
Debra Bateman - St. Joseph's University
Erica Crump - Cornell University
Elizabeth Donald - University of Pennsylvania
Alison Fishman - Princeton University
Ariel Frost, coxswain - Princeton University
Annie Gayman - Princeton University
Sara Hendershot - Princeton University
Whitteny Henry - Bucknell University
Liz Henwood - Syracuse University
Page Kannor - Bucknell University
Meredith Mead - Columbia University
Kathryn Purdy - University of Pennsylvania

All-Mid-Atlantic Region Second Team
Regine Adrien - University of Delaware
Airlina Burrill - University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Rebecca Donald - University of Pennsylvania
Kelly Henkler - Bucknell University
Genevieve Joy - Columbia University
Natalie Mastracci - Syracuse University
Carol Schoenecker - Bucknell University
Lauren Wilkinson - Princeton University
Jeweliet Yost, coxswain - Bucknell University

All-South Region First Team
Desiree Burns - University of Virginia
Amanda Chase - University of Virginia
Jennifer Cromwell - University of Virginia
Brittany Cummings - Clemson University
Kristin Falovo - University of Louisville
Mallory Hamman - University of Louisville
Chelsey Lauzon - University of Central Florida
Jessica Leidecker - Clemson University
Jennifer VanderMaarel - University of Texas

All-South Region Second Team
Hillary Cumbest - Clemson University
Stefani Kozuszek - Clemson University
Megan McMullin - University of North Carolina
Liz Robinson - University of Central Florida
Rachael Sporko - University of Miami
Augusta Stratos - University of Virginia

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network