Pac-10 Tops Field at 2009 NCAA Men's Golf Championship with Seven Teams

May 25, 2009

NCAA Men's Golf | Live Scoring

TOLEDO, Ohio-- The 2009 NCAA Men's Golf Championship tees off competition Tuesday at the par-71, 7,255-yard Inverness Club, hosted by the University of Toledo. The Pac-10 leads the way with seven schools qualifying for Nationals. Arizona, Arizona State, Oregon, Stanford, UCLA, USC, and Washington will all contend for a national title, May 26-30.

This year's tournament is the 112th annual championship event in NCAA history and will feature a new twist with the team champion determined via match play, the first time the winner hasn't been awarded by total strokes since 1965. The top eight teams after 54 holes of stroke play will advance to match play with the quarterfinals and semifinals being held on Friday, May 29 and the championship match set for Saturday, May 30. An individual champion will be crowned following Thursday's play.

During the match-play portion of the championships, each match will be worth one point with all five players participating. The first team to win three points within the team match will advance or, in the case of the championship match, be declared the national champion.

Teams qualified for the NCAA Championships by participating at six regional sites last weekend in California, Florida, Kentucky, New Jersey, Oklahoma and Texas. The six regional champions were defending national champion UCLA (Central), Alabama (Northeast), No. 1 seed Oklahoma State (South Central), UCF (Southeast), Florida (Southwest) and Arizona State (West).

In terms of conference representation, the Pac-10 leads the way with seven schools (Arizona, Arizona State, Oregon, Southern Cal, Stanford, UCLA, Washington) followed by the SEC with six schools (Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, Tennessee), the Big Ten with five schools (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Northwestern and Ohio State) and the Big 12 (Oklahoma State, Texas, Texas A&M, Texas Tech) and ACC (Duke, Georgia Tech, Virginia, Wake Forest) with four schools apiece. Chattanooga (Southern), San Diego (West Coast), TCU (Mountain West) and UCF (Conference USA) are the remaining teams in the tournament.

Below are the seedings for the 2009 NCAA Men's Golf Championships:

1. Oklahoma State
2. Alabama
3. Florida
4. Arizona State
6. Georgia
7. Washington
8. Arkansas
9. Tennessee
10. Georgia Tech
11. Texas A&M
12. Illinois
13. Stanford
14. South Carolina
15. USC
16. Central Florida
17. Texas Tech
18. Oregon
19. Texas
20. Chattanooga
21. Arizona
22. Virginia
23. Ohio State
24. Northwestern
25. San Diego
26. TCU
27. Wake Forest
28. Duke
29. Michigan
30. Iowa

  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    TODAY | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder