Three Pac-10 Baseball Teams Selected To 2009 NCAA Tournament

May 25, 2009

NCAA Tournament Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS -- The field of 64 teams competing for the 2009 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship was announced today by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee. Representing the Pacific-10 Conference will be ARIZONA STATE, the No. 5 national seed, OREGON STATE and WASHINGTON STATE.

The Sun Devils will face Mid-American Conference champion Kent State in their opening game of the tournament on May 29 at Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark. Summit League champion Oral Roberts and Cal Poly of the Big West Conference were also sent to the Tempe Regional.

The Beavers will be the No. 3 seed in the Fort Worth Regional, which also includes No. 1 and host TCU, No. 2 Texas A&M and No. 4 Wright State. Oregon State will square off against Texas A&M in the Beavers' first-round game, Firday, May 29 at 2 p.m. CT.

Washington State makes its first NCAA Tournament appearance since 1990. The Cougars will play in the Norman Regional, hosted by Oklahoma. WSU will be the No. 3 seed in the regional, facing No. 2 Arkansas in the first-round game. No. 4 Wichita State will take on No. 1 Oklahoma in the first round.

The national top eight seeds are Texas (41-13-1), Cal State Fullerton (42-14), LSU (46-16), North Carolina (42-16), Arizona St. (44-12), UC Irvine (43-13), Oklahoma (41-18) and Florida (39-20).

The Big 12 and Southeastern Conference lead all conferences in the number of teams in the championship field with eight, followed by the Atlantic Coast Conference with seven. The Big Ten, Big West, Conference USA and Pac-10 each have three teams each.

Twenty-nine of the 64 teams were not in the field last year. Binghamton (AQ), Cal Poly (at-large), Georgia St. (AQ), Kansas State (at-large) and Xavier (AQ), all are making the championship for the first time. Utah last was in the field in 1960, Boston College last made it in 1967.

 Each of the 16 regionals feature four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 29, to Monday, June 1 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 1 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

The 63rd Men's College World Series begins play Saturday, June 13, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder