Three Rowers Earn All-Region Honors

May 25, 2009

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - Oregon State rowers Ame Hicks, Katie Humm and Jenny Kossowsky were among the winners of the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) 2009 Division I all-region award as announced last weekend. The awards recognize the outstanding performances of rowers and coxswains from each of the five regions, organized into first- and second-team selections.

Hicks, a senior from 100 Mile House, B.C., and Kossowsky, a junior from Leipzig, Germany, each received first team all-region recognition while Humm, a junior from Lake Oswego, Ore., earned second team honors. The trio recently helped the Beavers' Varsity 8+ to a third place finish at the Pac-10 Championships earning a medal finish for the first time since 2000.

Three all-region members is the most awards for OSU rowers since 2001 when Abby Roos (first team), Cassie Bouska (second team), Joy Jordan (third team) and Jennelle Johnson (third team) were honored.

Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team's regional finish, coaches' recommendations and 2,000-meter ergometer score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their teams' varsity boat in 75-percent of races this season.

These athletes will be eligible for All-America awards selection following the NCAA Rowing Championships. The NCAA regatta will be held May 29-31 on the Cooper River in Camden, N.J.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder