Muscle Milk California Student-Athletes of the Week

May 26, 2009


BERKELEY - The doubles team of sophomore Mari Andersson and freshman Jana Juricova won four straight matches Thursday through Sunday at the 2009 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Doubles Championship in College Station, Texas, advancing to the championship match Monday, where they capped off their run with a win over Stanford's Hilary Barte and Lindsay Burdette to earn the title of national champions and make the duo the Muscle Milk California Student-Athletes of the Week.

In the Round of 32 at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center on Thursday, the No. 7-ranked Andersson and Juricova beat No. 12 Whitney Chappell and Alex Haney of Auburn 7-6(5), 6-3; the next day in the Round of 16, they edged. No. 19 Michaela Kissell and Laura Vallverdu of Miami 7-5, 6-4; their quarterfinal win on Saturday came against top-ranked Renata Kucerkova and Anastasia Petukhova of Florida State 7-6(1), 6-3; and Sunday' semifinal saw the pair beat No. 13 Csilla Borsanyi and Lenka Broosova of Baylor 6-4, 6-3.

On Memorial Day, Andersson and Juricova won the national doubles championship over Stanford's Barte and Burdette, the No. 8 team, 6-3, 6-4.

The Golden Bear tandem becomes the fifth Cal doubles team to win the crown and the first since 2003 NCAA champions Raquel Kops-Jones and Christina Fusano. Cal's other titles came when head coach Amanda Augustus teamed up with Amy Jensen to win back-to-back championships in 1998 and 1999; and when Jensen teamed with Claire Curran for her third title in 2000.

Andersson and Juricova complete their first seasons with the Bears with a 25-3 doubles record together and claimed the NCAA title by winning their seventh consecutive match. The duo posted a perfect 8-0 record in tournament matches. Individually, Andersson finishes with a 25-5 doubles record while Juricova takes home a team-high 39-7 doubles mark. Barte and Burdette complete the year with a 27-8 overall record this year.

Muscle Milk California Student-Athletes of the Week

Date Winner Sport
May 26 Mari Andersson and Jana Juricova Women's Tennis
May 18 Jana Juricova Women's Tennis
May 11 Marina Cossou Women's Tennis
May 4 Kari Karlsson Track and Field
April 27 Michael Coe Track and Field
April 20 Evan Roth Men's Gymnastics
April 13 Ryan Young Track and Field
April 6 Jana Juricova Women's Tennis
March 30 Nathan Adrian Men's Swimming and Diving
March 23 Dana Vollmer Women's Swimming and Diving
March 16 Michael Coe Indoor Track & Field
March 9 Nathan Adrian Men's Swimming and Diving
March 2 Dana Vollmer Women's Swimming and Diving
February 23 Marissa Drewrey Softball
February 16 Mari Andersson Women's Tennis
February 9 Kyle Bunthuwong Men's Gymnastics
February 2 Devanei Hampton Women's Basketball
January 26 Emily Csikos Women's Water Polo
January 19 Alexis Gray-Lawson Women's Basketball
January 12 Patrick Christopher Men's Basketball

January 12

Patrick Christopher Men's Basketball
December 29 idle
December 22 idle
December 15 Jerome Randle Men's Basketball
December 8 Jahvid Best Football
December 1 Ashley Walker Women's Basketball
November 24 Alexis Gray-Lawson Women's Basketball
November 17 Brian Dudley Men's Water Polo
November 10 Jana Juricova Women's Tennis
November 3 Nathan Adrian Men's Swimming
October 27 Michael Mohamed Football
October 20 Carli Lloyd Volleyball
October 13 Alex Morgan Women's Soccer
October 6 Marina Cossou Women's Tennis
September 29 Syd'Quan Thompson Football
September 22 Hana Cutura Volleyball
September 15 Andrea Lo Field Hockey
September 8 Jahvid Best Football
September 2 Andrew Wiedeman Men's Soccer

2007-08 Winners

2006-07 Winners

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder