2009 Pac-10 Baseball All-Conference Awards Announced

May 27, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader



WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - ARIZONA STATE junior outfielder Jason Kipnis has been named the 2009 Pacific-10 Conference Baseball Player of the Year, while teammate junior right-hander Mike Leake has earned Pitcher of the Year honors. STANFORD sophomore Jake Schlander has been selected the Defensive Player of the Year, UCLA right-handed pitcher Trevor Bauer has been named Freshman of the Year and Arizona State's Pat Murphy has earned Coach of the Year honors, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today. The awards are determined by a vote of the league's coaches.

Kipnis, the 2008 Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year, leads the Pac-10 in four statistical categories this season, including slugging percentage (.720), runs scored (66), total bases (144) and stolen bases (21). The Northbrook, Ill., native also ranks in the top-3 in the Conference in batting average (.380, 2nd), on-base percentage (.496, 2nd), RBI (65, 2nd) and hits (76, 3rd). Kipnis has been selected as one of 30 semifinalists for the 2009 Golden Spikes Award, presented annually to the top player in college baseball. A Sun Devil has now been selected the Conference's Player of the Year for the last three seasons (Brett Wallace 2007, 2008). Coincidentally, Arizona State was the last institution to produce three straight winners (Willie Bloomquist 1999, Casey Myers 2000, 2001).

Leake garners his second consecutive Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year award, becoming the first ever back-to-back winner and the fourth two-time recipient. The Fallbrook, Calif., native leads the nation with 14 wins on the season, setting a new career high. His 1.24 ERA is second nationally and he leads the Conference in innings pitched (115.2), opposing batting average (.170) and batters struck out (128). In Pac-10 play, the righty posted a 9-0 record, with six complete games including two shutouts. He struck out 87 batters while walking just 12 in his nine league appearances. A mid-season All-American, Leake is also a semifinalist for the Golden Spikes Award. In addition to his athletic honors, the junior has also been tabbed the Academic All-American of the Year by ESPN The Magazine and CoSIDA.

Schlander, a native of Scottsdale, Ariz., started all 55 of the Cardinal's games this season. The sophomore has also started all 122 games of his Stanford career, becoming the first Cardinal shortstop to accomplish that feat. Schlander registered a .965 fielding percentage, while committing just nine errors, three in the final two games, in 254 total chances. He was errorless in 47 of Stanford's 55 games this year as he had a 14-game and a 13-game errorless streak during the campaign. He is second in the Pac-10 with 167 assists and had a hand in 27 double plays during the season. In addition, he hit .232 with 12 doubles, one triple, one home run and 22 RBI for the Cardinal.

Bauer led UCLA with nine wins and a 2.99 ERA in his debut season. He threw four complete games, three in Conference games, including a complete-game shutout against Washington on April 18. He was a perfect 7-0 in Pac-10 play. The Valencia, Calif., native is ranked in the top-10 in several Conference pitching categories, including innings pitched (105.1, 2nd), wins (9, t2nd), batters struck out (92, 7th) and opposing batting average (.225, 9th). He is one of only two pitchers in UCLA history to notch nine wins as a freshman (Pete Janicki, 1990). He has been invited to the 2009 USA Baseball National Team Trials taking place in June.

Murphy has guided the Sun Devils to their third straight Pac-10 title, the first team to accomplish that feat since the division merged in 1999. It is the fourth Conference crown for the Syracuse, N.Y., native in his 15th season at the helm of the program. ASU was picked to win the Pac-10 championship in the coaches' preseason poll and has been ranked in the top-10 nationally all year. This is Murphy's fourth Pac-10 Coach of the Year accolade, winning in 2000 and now three straight from 2007-09. The Sun Devils will be making their 10th consecutive NCAA postseason appearance as they have received the No. 5 overall seed in the 2009 NCAA Tournament.


NAME Year School
Dillon Baird Jr. Arizona
Trevor Bauer Fr. UCLA
Brad Boxberger Jr. USC
Mark Canha So. California
Dwight Childs Jr. Arizona
Gerrit Cole Fr. UCLA
Kyle Conley (2) Jr. Washington
Cody Decker (2) Sr. UCLA
Grant Green (2)  Jr.  USC 
Brett Jackson Jr.  California 
Jeremy Johnson  Jr.  Washington State 
Kellen Kiilsgaard  So.  Stanford 
Jason Kipnis (2) Jr.  Arizona State 
Jeff Kobernus  Jr.  Caifornia 
Mitchell Lambson  Fr.  Arizona State 
Mike Leake (3)  Jr.  Arizona State 
Matt Newman  So.  Arizona State 
Bryce Ortega  So. Arizona 
Ryan Ortiz (2)  Jr.  Oregon State 
Jared Prince  Sr.  Washington State 
Carlos Ramirez  Jr.  Arizona State 
Blake Smith  Jr.  California 
Josh Spence  Jr.  Arizona State 
Drew Storen (2)  So.  Stanford 
Matt Way  Sr.  Washington State 

(2) - Two-time All-Conference selection
(3) - Three-time All-Conference selection

Honorable Mention:  Chad Arnold, So., WSU; Joey August, Sr., STAN; Jett Bandy, Fr., ARIZ; Seth Blair, So., ASU; Charles Brewer, Jr., UCLA; Gavin Brooks, Jr., UCLA; Alex Burg, Sr., WSU; Cory Burns, Sr., ARIZ; Kole Calhoun, Jr., ASU; Bobby Coyle, So., ARIZ; Blair Dunlap, Jr., UCLA; Jason Erickson, Sr., WASH; Max Fearnow, Sr., STAN; Drew Gagnier, So., ORE; Niko Gallego, So., UCLA; Sam Gaviglio, Fr., OSU; Toby Gerhart, Jr., STAN; Brad Glenn, Sr., ARIZ; Matt Grace, So., UCLA; Preston Guilmet, Sr., ARIZ; Casey Haerther, Jr., UCLA; Derek Jones, Fr., WSU; Andrew Kittredge, Fr., WASH; Greg Lagreid, Sr., WSU; Zack MacPhee, Fr., ASU; Drew Maggi, Fr., ASU; Jared McDonald, Jr., ASU; Brent Milleville, Sr., STAN; Brett Mooneyham, Fr., STAN; Jared Norris, So., OSU; Ricky Oropesa, Fr., USC; Hunter Pace, Sr., ARIZ; Brian Pearl, Jr., WASH; Pierce Rankin, So., WASH; Curtis Raulinaitis, Jr., ORE; Kevin Rhoderick, So., OSU; Jake Rife, Sr., WASH; Adalberto Santos, Jr., OSU; Steve Selsky, Fr., ARIZ; Erik Stavert, Jr., ORE; Robert Stock, Jr., USC; Jason Stoffel, Jr., ARIZ; Jordan Swagerty, Fr., ASU; Raoul Torrez, Jr., ASU; Riccio Torrez, Fr., ASU; Andrew Triggs, R-Fr., USC; Anthony Vasquez, Sr., USC; Shea Vucinich, So., WSU; Tyler Waldron, So., OSU; Colin Walsh, So., STAN; Daniel Workman, So., ARIZ.


- Pac-10 -