Pac-10 Leads the Way with Eight Named to Louisville Slugger/NFCA All-America First Team

May 27, 2009

STARKVILLE, Miss.-- The Pac-10 leads the way with eight first-team honorees, as the National Fastpitch Coaches Association announced the 2009 Louisville Slugger/NFCA Division I All-America teams, Wednesday.

USA Softball Player of the Year and Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year Danielle Lawrie (Washington) and Pac-10 Player of the Year Kaitlin Cochran (Arizona State) headline the first-team award winners. A total of 14 players from Arizona, Arizona State, California, Stanford UCLA and Washington were honored by the NFCA and spread among the first, second, and third teams.


The Pac-10 Award Winners are as follows:

First Team

POS. Player School
P Danielle Lawrie Washington
2B Ashley Charters Washington
OF Kaitlin Cochran Arizona State
OF Brittany Lastrapes Arizona
OF Katie Schroeder UCLA
UT/P Megan Langenfeld     UCLA
At-Large/OF Alissa Haber  Stanford
At-Large/P Missy Penna Stanford


Second Team

POS. Player  School
At-Large/SS Ashley Hansen Stanford


Third Team

POS. Player School
C Stacie Chambers Arizona
3B Jenae Leles Arizona
UT/Non-P Jessica Mapes Arizona State
At-Large/UT-P    Valerie Arioto California
At-Large/2B Amanda Kamekona UCLA