Three Husky Rowers Named All-Pac-10

May 27, 2009

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Three Husky rowers were named to Pac-10 All-Conference teams, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Wednesday. Will Crothers, Rob Gibson and Adrienne Martelli were among the 26 athletes so honored.

Crothers, a senior from Kingston, Ontario, garnered his second Pac-10 All-Conference nod after stroking the men's varsity eight all season and leading the Huskies to wins over California and at the Windermere Cup. Washington's varsity eight finished second at the San Diego Crew Classic and finished third in an exceptional Pac-10 Championship final, in which California, Stanford and Washington finished within 2.2 seconds of each other.

Classmate and countryman Gibson also earned his second All-Pac-10 selection this season with his performance in the five-seat of the men's varsity eight. Gibson, who also hails from Kingston, Ontario, was named the captain of the 2009 squad after the Class Day races on March 28. An alternate on the 2008 Canadian Olympic team, Gibson helped the Huskies to a sweep of California at home on Montlake Cut on April 25 and a win over Oregon State and the Brazilian U23 team at the Windermere Cup on May 2.

Martelli, a junior from University Place, Wash., picked up her first All-Pac-10 selection after helping the Huskies to a fourth-place varsity eight finish at the Pac-10 Championships. As a member of the varsity eight, Martelli helped the Huskies to a sweep of Washington State back on April 11, defeating WSU's varsity in a dual for the first time in three years. The top boat also raced to wins over Miami (Fla.) and Brazil's U23 team in the Windermere Cup on May 2. Martelli was also recently named to the CRCA All-West Region team, making her eligible for All-America selection at this weekend's NCAA Championships.

Members of the All-Conference rowing teams are based upon each institution's finish in the varsity eight championship race at the Conference Championships, which were held May 17 on Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif. The Conference champion provides four members of the All-Conference team, the Pac-10 second place team provides three members and the Pac-10 third place finisher provides two. All other participating conference crews receive one selection each.

Individual awards, including Rowers of the Year, Newcomers of the Year and Coaches of the Year, are scheduled to be announced on Wednesday, June 3, following this weekend's NCAA Women's Rowing Championships (Cherry Hill, N.J.) and in advance of the men's IRA Championships (Gold River, Calif.).

Will Crothers, Washington
Rob Gibson, Washington
Nareg Guregian, California
Ryan Hasvold, USC
Nick Lucey, California
Mark Murphy, Stanford
Alex Osborne, Stanford
Sebastian Peterlin, Stanford
Martin Reschke, UCLA
Jan Tize, California
David Weir, Oregon State
Mitch Williams, Washington State
Nikola Zunic, California

Liene Bertasjus, USC
Ame Hicks, Oregon State
Katie Humm, Oregon State
Lou Kinder, California
Jenna Levy, Stanford
Erica Lewis, Washington State
Elle Logan, Stanford
Grace Luczak, Stanford
Adrienne Martelli, Washington
Lauren Nowinski, California
Iva Obradovic, California
Erika Roddy, Stanford
Vanessa Teff, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network