Jason Kipnis Named Pac-10 Player of the Year

May 28, 2009

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University junior outfielder Jason Kipnis has been named the Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year, it was announced today. It is the third straight season that an ASU player has been named the conference's top player, after Brett Wallace won in both 2007 and 2008.

Kipnis (Northbrook, Ill.) leads the team with a .380 batting average and 76 hits, and he is second with 14 home runs and 65 RBI. He is also the team leader with 18 doubles, 36 extra base hits, 45 walks and 21 stolen bases, and he is yet to commit an error in the field this year.

Kipnis is the 14th Sun Devil to be named Pac-10 Player of the Year, joining former ASU greats such as Wallace, Casey Myers (2000 and 2001), Willie Bloomquist (1999), Paul LoDuca (1993), Oddibe McDowell (1984) and Alvin Davis (1982).

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder