Pac-10 Runners, Jumpers, and Throwers to Compete in NCAA Track and Field Regionals

May 28, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, CALIF. -- The NCAA West Region Track and Field Championships get underway in Eugene, Ore., this Friday and Saturday, May 29-30. The University of Oregon will host the event at Historic Hayward Field (capacity: 10,500). A total of 353 Pac-10 student-athletes will compete in this weekend's activities which begin Friday, May 29 at 2:40 p.m. PT and on Saturday, May 30 at 12 noon. PT. Live results will be available at

Here's a breakdown of the number of Pac-10 student-athletes competing this weekend:
ARIZONA - 18 men, 15 women
ARIZONA STATE - 23 men, 14 women
CALIFORNIA - 18 men, 16 women
OREGON - 25 men, 26 women
OREGON STATE - 1 woman
STANFORD - 23 men, 22 women
UCLA - 28 men, 21 women
USC - 22 men, 16 women
WASHINGTON - 15 men, 14 women
WASHINGTON STATE - 19 men, 17 women

2009 NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS . . . The top five finishers from each regional event automatically advance to the NCAA Championships. This year's national championships will be held June 10-13 at University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Ark.

THE RANKINGS. . . Here's where the Pac-10 ranks in USTFCCCA's Top-25 as of May 27:

Men                          Women
3. Oregon 1. Oregon
9. Arizona State 5. USC
12. USC 6. Arizona State
13. Stanford 12. Stanford
15. California 13. Washington
18. Washington 15. UCLA
25. Arizona

PAC-10 HISTORY . . . Clearly the nation's most successful track and field Conference ever, the Pacific-10 Conference has produced such track and field greats as Bernard Lagat, Ato Boldon, John Godina, Balazs Kiss, Mike Powell, Greg Foster, Kevin Young, Andre Phillips, James Robinson, Herman Frazier, Steve Lewis, Joaquim Cruz, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Florence Griffith-Joyner, Evelyn Ashford, Henry Rono, Steve Prefontaine, Bob Mathias, Bob Seagren, Gail Devers, Sheila Hudson, Willie Banks, Quincy Watts, Alberto Salazar and Mac Wilkins, to name just a few. Pac-10 schools have won an unprecedented 45 of 83 NCAA men's team titles (USC 26, UCLA 8, OREGON 5, STANFORD 4, ARIZONA STATE 1, CALIFORNIA 1), while six of the 26 women's titles have gone to Pac-10 teams (UCLA 3, ARIZONA STATE 1, OREGON 1, USC 1). Pac-10 men have won 309 individual NCAA titles, while Pac-10 women have claimed 106 individual NCAA titles.

PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIPS . . . The OREGON Ducks won their fifth men's Pac-10 title in seven years, and 10th overall, outdistancing USC by 41 points (158 to 117). The Ducks captured six individual titles - Andrew Wheating (800m/1:49.83), Matthew Centrowitz (1500m/3:51.00), Galen Rupp (10000m/29:01.93), Chris Winter (3000m steeple/8:51.48), and Ashton Eaton (Decathlon/8091). The distance races propelled the Ducks to victory where they picked up 59 points (1500m, 500m, 10000m, 3000m steeple), including a 1-2-3 finish in the 1500... OREGON won its first women's title since 1992 and third overall. It also marked the first time in school history the Ducks swept both the women's and men's team titles. UCLA is the only other school to accomplish the feat, having done so eight times, most recently in 2004. The Ducks picked up seven individual titles, with five of those coming in the field events - Keisha Baker (400m/51.74), Zoe Buckman (800m/2:05.39), Melissa Gergel (pole vault/4.32m, 14-02), Jamesha Youngblood (long jump/6.43m, 21-01.25; triplejump/13.16m, 43-02.25), Rachel Yurkovich (javelin/58.26, 191-02), and Brianne Theisen (heptathlon/5986)... Five performers doubled at the Pac-10 Championships, led by USC's Ahmad Rashad (100m/200m), ARIZONA's Luis Rivera-Morales (long jump/triple jump), ARIZONA STATE's Charonda Williams (100m/200m), Oregon's Jamesha Youngblood (long jump/triple jump), and Arizona State's Sarah Stevens (shot put/discus throw).

  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    TODAY | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder