Pat Murphy Named Pac-10 Coach of the Year For Third Straight Season

May 28, 2009

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University head coach Pat Murphy has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year for the third straight season, the conference announced today. The Coach of the Year is selected by a vote of all the Pac-10 head coaches.

Murphy, now in his 15th year at ASU, is the first coach since the divisions merged in 1999 to win three straight Pac-10 Coach of the Year awards. It is the fourth time Murphy has been named the conference's top coach, joining 2000, 2007 and 2008.

ASU has had the Pac-10 Coach of the Year nine times, and this is the first time a Sun Devil head coach has won the award three consecutive seasons.

Murphy led the Sun Devils to their third straight outright conference title this season and the No. 5 national seed in the NCAA Tournament. He won his 600th game at ASU earlier this year, and he currently has 993 career victories.

  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    Thu 6/20 | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder