Track Places 32 On Pac-10 All-Academic Team

May 28, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - A total of 32 Washington track and field athletes were named to the Pac-10 All-Academic team today the conference office announced, led by First Team selections Jordan Swarthout and Brooke Anderson.

Criteria for selection includes a grade point average of 3.0 or above and participation in fifty percent of the team's competitions. Team members must also have completed at least one full year at the institution.

Swarthout, a sophomore distance runner from Olympia, Wash., boasts the highest GPA at 3.95 while majoring in international studies. He was also a First Team All-Academic selection for cross country in the fall and this is his second First Team track honor. Anderson, a senior academically and junior athletically, boasts a 3.84 GPA in business administration. She placed 20th in the 5,000-meters at the 2009 Pac-10 Championships. This is her third straight First Team honor.

The men had five Second Team honorees, including All-American pole vaulters Jared O'Connor (Clifton Park, N.Y.) and Scott Roth (Granite Bay, Calif.), the 2009 Pac-10 Champion. Also earning a spot on the Second Team were junior Chris Ahl (Seattle, Wash.), senior Jeremy Mineau (Menlo Park, Calif.), and David Nyland (Woodinville, Wash.), a junior athletically but senior academically.

Second Team women's selections included senior Emily Collins (Eugene, Ore.) and redshirt freshman Kelsey Shimada (Belleveu, Wash.).

An additional nine men and 14 women were honorable mentions. Nine of the 32 athletes honored will be competing this weekend for the Huskies at NCAA West Regionals in Eugene, Ore. for spots in the NCAA Outdoor Championships.

The academic track record for the track team has been sparkling of late. Men's track was named the 2008 National Scholar Team of the Year by the USTFCCCA for the best combination of G.P.A. and NCAA Championship finish. Then in the fall of 2008, the women's cross country squad was also named National Scholar Team of the Year after winning the national title.

For the complete teams, view the attached PDF.


Men's Fist Team
Jordan Swarthout So. 3.95 International Studies

Men's Second Team
Chris Ahl, Jr. 3.50 Accounting
Jeremy Mineau Sr. 3.64 Environmental Science & Resource Management
David Nyland Jr. 3.51 Law, Societies & Justice
Jared O'Connor Sr. 3.48 Environmental Science & Resource Management
Scott Roth So. 3.38 Biology

Honorable Mention: Faisal Abdullahi, RFr.; Alec Bromka, Jr.; Peter Follmer, So.; Brian Govier, Jr.; Jeff Gudaitis, Jr.; David McCary, RFr.; Jake Schmitt, Jr.; Ryan Vu, Jr.; Zach Woods, Jr.

Women's First Team
Brooke Anderson Jr. 3.84 Business Administration

Women's Second Team
Emily Collins Sr. 3.70 Psychology
Kelsey Shimada RFr. 3.74 Statistics

Honorable Mention: Andrea Brown, Sr.; Anita Campbell, Jr.; Kailey Campbell, Jr.; Taylor Fjeran, RFr.; Katie Follett, Jr.; Liz Fuller, Sr.; Mo Huber, Jr.; Allison Lombardo, Jr.; Kelly Mudlo, RFr.; Andrea Peterson, Sr.; Bailey Schutte, So.; Amanda Stopa, So.; Lauren Visoria, RFr.; Ally Wojciechowski, Jr.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder