Ilcinkas Earns Third Pac-10 All-Academic Award

June 1, 2009


Complete Pac-10 All-Academic Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

California women's tennis senior Claire Ilcinkas received her third selection to the Pac-10 Conference All-Academic team as Commissioner Tom Hansen announced the 2009 Men's and Women's Tennis All-Academic teams Monday, June 1. Ilcinkas took her second consecutive spot on the first team (2nd team in 2007) and was joined by fellow seniors Bojana Bobusic and Marion Ravelojaona and sophomore Marina Cossou, whom each received honorable mention. For Bobusic, it was her third such honor.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor. An economics major with a 3.69 GPA, Ilcinkas was an instrumental piece to a run that led the Golden Bears to their second consecutive NCAA runner-up finish. She logged a 31-10 singles record and posted a 20-4 mark in dual matches. In doubles play, Ilcinkas added 25 victories as she was selected to compete in both the NCAA singles and doubles championships.

Earlier this spring, Ilcinkas received the Neufeld Scholar-Athlete Award. The award is given to the graduating male and female student-athletes with the highest cumulative grade point averages and was established by Cal Hall of Famer William Neufeld Sr. in honor and memory of his son, William Jr., who ran track at Cal.

Bobusic ranked second on the team with a 38-11 singles record and a led the team with a 22-3 dual-match singles mark. She also registered a 24-14 doubles record in her final season. Ravelojaona tacked up a 23-13 record in singles play and added nine doubles wins. Cossou fought off an injury to take home a 27-11 mark in her second-year campaign while adding a 20-14 record in doubles.

The Bears completed one of the most successful seasons in school history ranked No. 4 in the ITA College Tennis Rankings and with a 22-5 record as Cal went 7-1 in Pac-10 play for second place and a 28th consecutive postseason appearance.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder