Arizona State Hosts Clemson In NCAA Super Regional Action Saturday

June 2, 2009


Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader


ARIZONA STATE, the No. 5 overall seed in the 2009 NCAA Tournament, will host the Clemson Tigers (44-20) from the Atlantic Coast Conference for a best-of-three series in the Tempe Super Regional. The winner will advance to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb. It will be the first meeting between the Pac-10 and ACC this season. The Sun Devils are making their third straight super regional appearance, and fourth in the last five years. The Pac-10 regular season champions defeated Kent State and Oral Roberts twice in the Tempe Regional. Mike Leake, the 2009 Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year, was named the regional’s Most Outstanding Player, while Kole Calhoun, Zack MacPhee, Johnny Ruettiger and Jason Kipnis were named to the All-Tournament Team. Leake was also the Most Outstanding Player of the Tempe Regional in 2007.


Tempe Super Regional (Tempe, Ariz.)
Saturday, June 6
No. 14 Clemson at No. 2 ARIZONA STATE, 6 p.m. (ESPNU)
Game Tracker

Sunday, June 7
No. 14 Clemson at No. 2 ARIZONA STATE, 7 p.m. (ESPN2)
Game Tracker

Monday, June 8 (if necessary)
No. 14 Clemson at No. 2 ARIZONA STATE, 4 p.m. (ESPN2)

All times are local to site.


The determination of the Men’s College World Series order of first-round games both Saturday, June 13, and Sunday, June 14, will be announced Monday, June 8. The ESPN family of networks and will release the MCWS game dates and times as soon as they are available.

The 63rd Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 13, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.


• ARIZONA STATE (47-12, 21-6): The Sun Devils are making their 10th straight trip to the NCAA Tournament in 2009 and have advanced to a super regional for the third consecutive sesason... ASU’s .787 won-loss percentage (47-12) is the best in the country, as is the team’s 2.79 ERA... They have won 40 games in a season for the third consecutive year and have now reached the 40-win plateau 30 times in program history, including six of the last seven seasons... With its 2-1 series win over UCLA, ASU has earned its 20th conference championship, ninth since joining the Pac-10 in 1979... ASU also becomes the first team since the North and South divisions merged in 1999 to win three straight titles... It marks the fourth Pac-10 championship for head coach Pat Murphy in his 15 seasons at the helm of the program... Arizona State is led by JR outfielder Jason Kipnis, the Pac-10 Player of the Year, and JR right-handed pitcher Mike Leake, the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year... Kipnis leads the Sun Devils hitting .387, ranking second in the Pac-10. He leads the Conference with a .731 slugging percentage, 68 runs scored and 155 total bases. He is also second in the Pac-10 in on-base percentage (.500), hits (82), RBI (68) and walks (47), and is fourth with 15 home runs... Kipnis also leads the League with 24 stolen bases, ranking 52nd nationally... On the mound, Leake leads the nation with 15 wins this the season, a new career high. The Golden Spikes Award finalist also leads the nation with a 1.23 ERA and 5.12 hits allowed per nine innings. In his last three outings, Leake has thrown complete games, two being shutouts. In Pac-10 play, the righty posted a 9-0 record with six complete games and two shutouts. He struck out 87 batters while walking just 12 in his nine league appearances... JR catcher Carlos Ramirez has hit 18 home runs this season, the most by an ASU catcher since All-American Casey Myers also hit 18 in 2000. He also leads the Pac-10 with 69 RBI in his first season at ASU.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder