Robin Hextrum Named Pacific-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year

June 2, 2009

USC senior rower Robin Hextrum was named one of 10 spring Pacific-10 Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year, which honor collegiate student-athletes who are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline, the conference announced Tuesday (June 2). The awards are presented by Toyo Tires.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-10 institution nominates one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-10 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

Hextrum recently completed her career at USC by helping the Trojans record an 11th-place finish at the 2009 NCAA Women's Rowing Championships, where she helped the Varsity Four reach the Petite Final. She also recently was named 2009 Pac-10 All-Academic first team for the third year in a row.

The Pac-10 Scholar-Athletes for spring include:

Greg Lagreid, Washington State - Baseball, 3.48 - finance
Jessica Mapes, Arizona State - Softball, 4.11 - family and human development
Alex Williams, Oregon State - Men's Golf, 3.65 - history
Azahara Muñoz, Arizona State - Women's golf, 3.96 - psychology
Michael Look, UCLA - Men's tennis, 3.91 - business/economics
Danielle Steinberg, Arizona - Women's tennis, 3.88 - sociology
Mark Murphy, Stanford - Men's rowing, 3.57 - mechanical engineering
Robin Hextrum, USC - Women's rowing, 3.80 - fine arts
Galen Rupp, Oregon - Men's track & field, 3.87 - business administration
Sarah Stevens, Arizona State - Women's track & field, 4.04 - M.Ed. elementary education

Scholar-Athletes of the Year are named in each of the Pac-10's 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men's basketball, women's basketball, men's cross country, women's cross country, football, men's golf, women's golf, women's gymnastics, men's rowing, women's rowing, men's soccer, women's soccer, softball, men's swimming & diving, women's swimming & diving, men's tennis, women's tennis, men's track & field, women's track & field, women's volleyball, and wrestling.

Scholar-Athletes of the Year in each sport will receive a commemorative award. Toyo® will donate $1,000 to the scholarship funds of the institution's athletic department of each winner in recognition of their accomplishments.

'The Pac-10 and Toyo partnered in recognizing these student-athletes during the 2007-08 academic year and we are proud to continue recognizing these special student-athletes,' said Tom Hansen, Commissioner of the Pac-10. 'To be selected as the best student-athlete in any sport in the Pac-10 is a very special honor, and these are special young people, in academics as well as athletics. We are very appreciative that Toyo is helping them gain the recognition they deserve for their unique achievements.'

The Pac-10 Conference, in cooperation with Pac-10 corporate partner Toyo Tires, established the 'Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards, presented by Toyo Tires' during the 2008-09 academic year.

Other nominees included:

Baseball: John Wallace, OSU; Joey August, Stanford; Gino Aielli, UCLA.
Softball: Melissa Rice, ORE; Paige Lowe, OSU; Missy Penna, STAN.
Men's Golf: None.
Women's Golf: Shannon Yocum, CAL; Cathryn Bristow, ORE; Mari Chun,STAN; Tiffany Joh, UCLA; Jessica Black, WSU.
Men's Tennis: Mike Myrhed, ORE; Matt Bruch, STAN; Patrik Fischer, WASH.Women's Tennis: Laila Abdala, ASU; Carmen Seremeta, ORE; Jessica
Nguyen, STAN; Amanda Fink, USC; Aleksandra Cekic, WSU.Men's Rowing: Janis Fontein, CAL; Will Gustafson, OSU; Martin Reschke,UCLA; Lowell Neal, WASH; Andrew Winters, WSU.
Women's Rowing: Louise Kinder, CAL; Jane Ivey, OSU; Lauren Hofmayer,STAN; Rachel Powers, WASH; Carly Farris, WSU.
Men's Track & Field: Xuehan Xiong, ARIZ; Garrett Heath, STAN; KyleShackleton, UCLA; Andrew Gausepohl, USC.
Women's Track & Field: Kalindra McFadden, ORE; Holly Thomson; AliciaFollmar, STAN; Rhonda Watkins, UCLA; Sara Trané, WSU.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder