Mark Murphy Named Pac-10 Men's Rowing Scholar-Athlete Of The Year, Presented By Toyo Tires®

June 3, 2009

  • Pac-10 Release Get Acrobat Reader

    STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford oarsman Mark Murphy was honored Wednesday as the Pac-10 Men's Rowing Scholar-Athlete of the Year, presented by Toyo Tires®, the conference announced. Murphy, a senior mechanical engineering major with a 3.57 grade-point average, was one of 10 Pac-10 scholar-athletes honored from each of the spring sports in which the conference sponsors a championship.

    A native of Madison, Wis., Murphy adds Wednesday's honor to a list of 2009 accolades that includes selection to the All-Pac-10 Team as well as the Pac-10 All-Academic First Team.

    This season, Murphy has been an instrumental part of the Stanford I Eight boat that won the silver medal at the Pac-10 Championships as well as defeating conference rivals Oregon State and Washington at the Stanford Invitational, where the Cardinal boat also came within 0.32 of a second of defeating defending champion Wisconsin.

    In order to be eligible for the Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higherm participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-10 institution nominates one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-10 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

    Scholar-athletes in each of the Pac-10's 22 sponsored sports will receive a commemorative award. Toyo® will donate $1,000 to the scholarship funds of the institution's athletic department of each winner in recognition of their accomplishments.

    This weekend, Murphy and the Cardinal crews will head to Lake Natoma to battle for the national title at the IRA Championships.

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    4:30 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network