Bertasjus and Specjalska Named CRCA/Pocock All-Americans for Rowing

June 8, 2009

The Collegiate Coaches Rowing Association (CRCA) announced the 2009 Pocock All-America teams and two Trojans, junior Liene Bertasjus and senior Anna Specjalska were bestowed with the honors of first team All-America and second team All-America respectively.

General requirements for nominating a student-athlete for CRCA post-seasonhonors are that the student-athlete must meet all eligibility rules as defined by her institution, they must have rowed at least 75% of the current spring season's races in the varsity boat (before and including May 19, 2009), the student-athlete must be nominated by her institution and the head coach of the student-athlete's institution must be a member in good standing of the CRCA

The nominated student-athletes are then selected to 1st and 2nd teams basedon their strength of finish of the institution's varsity eight within the country, their coach's comments and their 2k erg score.

This is the second first-team All-America award for Bertasjus, a junior who hails from Jurmala, Latvia. She earned the honor in 2008 as a sophomore. Here in 2009, Bertasjus has been a strong leader for the Trojans. She was named to the Pac-10 All-Conference team this season and was also named to the CRCA All-West Region first team. She has grown as a leader and rowed out of the No. 7 seat for most of the spring season, which included a win over perennial favorite Harvard at the Charles River Challenge in Boston, Mass. She has been a key piece to the success of USC's crew which finished eleventh overall at the NCAA Championships and the varsity eight boat which finished ninth overall in the final CRCA rankings.

Senior Anna Specjalska earned her first All-America award this season, by being named to the All-America second team. Speckjalska is a native of Poland who was also named to the CRCA West Region second team in 2009. Specjalska has been a key for the varsity four boat. Coming out of the No. 4 seat she has helped the boat to a very successful season, including a second place finish at the Pac-10 Championships, where USC finished two tenths of a second behind victor Cal.

2009 1st Team All-America Award Winners

Liene Bertasjus - University of Southern California

Desiree Burns - University of Virginia

Jennifer Cromwell - University of Virginia

Emily Dreissigacker - Dartmouth College

Adrienne Fritsch - Stanford University

Tess Gerrand - Yale University

Sara Hendershot - Princeton University

Susi Herbrand - Ohio State University

Ame Hicks - Oregon State University

Lou Kinder - University of California, Berkeley

Ashley Kroll - University of Michigan

Jessica Leidecker - Clemson University

Jenna Levy, coxswain - Stanford University

Esther Lofgren - Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew

Elle Logan - Stanford University

Hannah Malvin - Brown University

Adrienne Martelli - University of Washington

Meredith Mead - Columbia University

Iva Obradovic - University of California, Berkeley

Taylor Ritzel - Yale University

Erika Roddy - Stanford University

Sarah Schmidt - Michigan State University

Theresa Shields - University of Wisconsin

Jessica Stage - Brown University

2009 2nd Team All-America Award Winners

Amanda Chase - University of Virginia

Karen Colwell - University of Michigan

Hillary Cumbest - Clemson University

Brittany Cummings - Clemson University

Peta Leigh Dakyns - Ohio State University

Alison Fishman - Princeton University

Annie Gayman - Princeton University

Elena Humphreys - University of California, Berkeley

Laura Huppert - Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew

Jenny Kossowsky - Oregon State University

Grace Luczak - Stanford University

Kayleigh Mack - University of Washington

Adrienne Mecham - University of Michigan

Katy Milton - University of California, Berkeley

Lauren Nowinski - University of California, Berkeley

Eleanor Pascall - Dartmouth College

Christina Person - Yale University

Emily Regan - Michigan State University

Augusta Stratos - University of Virginia

Ashlee Vilmo - University of Minnesota

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network